Why I am sceptical towards BTC classic and hodl my BCH

in #bitcoin7 years ago

How can you hate on Daddy Bitcoin?!

People have been looking a lot at the BTC community the past few weeks. There has been a lot of turmoil and while many popular voices concluded: "Bitcoin prevailed!", "The people won against the power!".

For me the conclusions were: "There is a power struggle within BTC", "Forked chains of BTC will get chunned by the BTC-community", "BTC is too big to fail, that is why it is the best"

A lot of the arguments and especially the FUD, backdoor deals and big influential corporations that showd up in all the drama were damaging to the BTC reputation overall, it reminded a lot of the narrative spinning that we all know and hate from the mainstream media.

On the other hand there is a very real problem: We saw a lot of mainstream adoption this year, for example the food delivery service lieferando.de accepting BTC as a method of payment. I have used it before and while the 20 minute transactin time and 3$ were already annoying a few months back, I don't think people are willing to pay >6$ transaction fee just to pay a 12$ pizza delivery.

BTC is not meant to be a currency but a storage of value

I first saw Vitalek from Ethereum make the argument that it is not a bad thing to have BTC so high up in price and so immobile that it is only an alternative to the stock market. He also said that speculation into a digital asset would be more healthy for the world economy compared to speculation into real world assets like food and production resources.

While I agree with that, the early use case of BTC was a currency and if that use case is abandoned then BTC loses a lot of it's value, imo.

I have not used BCH since I got my 0,05 through the Fork and I will hodl, not because I believe that Bitcoin Cash is the better Bitcoin, but because I do not like nor trust the "all alternatives to BTC are an evil attack" narrative that I saw many people make to some degree and the "too big to fail"/Titanic mentality of many BTC-fanatics seems troubling. A lot of the Crypto spirit involves that we will not have one consensus on one Crypto, but multiple different consenses on different blockchains, we do not want a rule of the majority and co-existing forks and altcoins are vital to achieve that goal.

I am not an expert on Crypto or BTC, if you think my argumentations is bs, please tell me in the comments

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74