Zero knowledge investingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

A story about how i doubled my money without learning anything

After reading about it for years i recently figured that i would try to figure out what cryptocurrencies were about. How better to do that, than to own some. I spent some time finding different sites that allowed buying bitcoin for fiat. I ended up buying some on coinbase. Now i was wondering what to do with them. Do i just let them sit there or what do i do? I figured i would try buy some altcoin for it and soon found out that my choice of coinbase might not have been the best.

After looking around for a bit i went with Bitsane as it seemed fairly simple and had a decent number of altcoins. I transferred half my bitcoin to bitsane at stared diversifying. In my case"diversifying" meant buying random coins. My basis for selecting what i did was non existent. At this point i am just trying to learn about trading. I bought ETH,LTC, Dash, BCH,BTG, Ripple. So most of what Bitsane offers.

Shortly after both BTC, LTC and ripple pumped and my holding increase substantially. I read a bit about ripple, watched some and decided to move some of my other stuff into it. It just seem like a good idea at the time. And what do you know ripple seriously pumped again. Very quickly i made a lot of returns and after about two weeks i had doubled my money

This was my very first experience with crypto currencies. I learned next to nothing about the different coins, but did end up providing some insight into trading. Nothing really actionable, but some experience with putting up orders, the difference between limit and market order, trading fee etc.

I have now started dabbling in other alt coins, but mostly based on hype and second hand information. Every coin and its brother has a whitepaper, and time is limited. Also reading them seems to be a terrible way to evaluate the viability of a coin, unless you are very technically inclined. Thus for now i stick to "hype trading", time will tell how well i do. I do aim to learn more about what differentiates the different coins, but for now it is a hobby and i only have so much time to spend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51