You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Encrypted Raspberry Pi Wallet - Part 2b: Let's talk about your passphrase

in #bitcoin6 years ago

The raspberry pi tutorial series is about creating an encrypted container on a PI that can store wallet files from different wallets. If you want to have all your coins in the same wallet you need to use 3rd party wallets and you have to rely on their security. I would not recommend that as some has been hacked/lost stuff. If you do I would recommend coinomi but that's a mobile wallet and I would recommoned mobile wallets only if you really need it on your mobile.

Thanks for mentioning typos. You need to be really carefull when you write your passphrase down. If you create such thing always make sure to retry to open it with your phrase and in a second opening round type very slowly.

Sort:  

So what wallets would you suggest to put in the encrypted container on the Pi? Different wallets for different coins? I'm a newbie. At some point I'd want a phone wallet too, once I start purchasing in the real world, but for now cold back up on a Pi sounds the best to me ...

That depends how many coins and what coins you have. I would recommend to store as many coins as you can in wallets by the core clients and the unimportant coins on other wallets. I have 6 main coins that I need to have on a wallet and I usually make private keys in the core wallet software and import them to a wallet like electrum (never make an electrum wallet by electrum itself). For some I only hodle like IOTA i just save the keyphrase/private key.

I do trading on markets so I keep a small amount on the markets and when I want to put things to savings I send it to the public keys that I have stored without need to a open wallet with a private key.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81