You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Generate My Own SECURE Private Keys for Bitcoin

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hi @creatr, Thanks for the info, it's a lot to take in though. Is this for creating your own keys for a hardware wallet, or a paper wallet? In your opinion, is running the off-line version of WalletGenerator.net on your local computer to make paper wallets not safe?

Sort:  

Hi, friend,

I have to confess that (until you pointed it out) I am not familiar with walletgenerator.net - and that I am uber-paranoid about having an effective "cold storage" for bitcoin after being hugely damaged by MtGox.

This method is for creating the private, secret key which should never go on-line and never be seen or known by anyone else.

I believe that most wallet programs (for example, Armory is one that I have used) provide a means to import a private key generated from an arbitrary source (like my dice method). I'm not sure which, if any, hardware wallets (e.g. Trevor) have a provision for doing the same.

I think the entire domain of "making cryptocurrency friendly while maintaining security" is a very large and fertile field for further development.

Thanks for your question. I hope my answer is somewhat helpful? ;)

Ok, got it. Yeah I agree, I have a few paper wallets where I hold the private and public keys for some alt coins, but I am looking into hardware like Ledger Nano and Trezor for future. A way to 50/50 what I acquire in time to be safe. I definitely don't trust keeping stuff in online accounts. Even in time I will have to balance out what I keep as Steem Power and exchange out some to other coins to store offline.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34