Could Bitcoin Kill Patreon??

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I watch a lot of YouTube, I mean a lot. My wife and I only watch TV to watch a few selective shows together and she has her "Dancing with the Stars" and "Bachelor/Bachelorette" shows. My usual evening is playing or reading on my computer with YouTube on the other screen.

I like many others have my favourite YouTuber's that I watch regularly and anyone who watches some one who make YouTube their career has heard of the Adpocalypse a few months ago. It was where YouTube due to a very small amount of complaints to companies where their ads appeared next to extremist content pulled back on Ad revenue to many many many channels. Many YouTubers then turned to Patreon as a way to try to recover their income streams. Ad revenue is gone now they have to ask their viewers directly for money. Not a bad system in principle.

Patreon has decided to flex their political muscles and are threatening to remove(which they already have) the ability of some to be funded to push their own ideological goals.

Regardless of where you lie on what sites like Youtube and Patreon in regards to who gets revenue I would hope most in the Cryptoworld can all agree how much easier something like Bitcoin would make supporting people.

YouTube/Google does not get a cut unlike with YouTube Streams. They take 30% of what one donates to the performer.
Patreon also takes a cut from what viewers and fans give as well.

Setting up a Bitcoin Wallet, or any other CryptoCurrency and promoting it could kill sites like Patreon! Why let Patreon get a cut when I can just send money directly? YouTube and other formats have the ability to reach a very very large audience. Getting Youtuber's and other creators to accept CryptoCurrencies as donation and payments...well every little bit helps make Bitcoin more Mainstream!

As Bitcoin becomes more mainstream and more accepting, prices will go up and keep being easier to use every day.

Win-win!

Patreon.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55