Jesus must have felt this way.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

82db6a77e236c02372bb9a3a76ea8aec_400x400.jpg

When I first heard about Bitcoin and Blockchain technology I became very excited. In a world dominated by those "in control" there seemed to be a little light at the end of the tunnel. I felt hopeful that the people could get together and orchestrate a peaceful revolution that would upset the balance of power in the world.

I have been a crypto preacher since this summer. I have urged friends and family to do some research on Bitcoin and Blockchain. They all ignore me and tolerate me. They make jokes like. " So are you a millionaire yet". Some of my religious friends are worried that this is the mark of the "Beast" and they want nothing to do with a new world currency. Other intelligent friends take advice from JP Morgans Jamie Diamon and Berkshire Hathaway's Warren Buffet, who claim that Bitcoin is a bubble and people should stay away. I would like to think that my friend and family respect me , but the truth is they think that I am brainwashed, and completely out of my mind.

Well, it looks like things are changing. I have been getting messages asking " How can I get in". Bitcoin is all over the news and they are talking about it on CNBC. Jim Kramer of CNBC said," that when the futures markets open Bitcoin will be Kabashed". How is that guy even considered an expert? He wasnt that good at stocks. I should feel vindicated now and glad that Bitcoin has finally emerged. Instead, I am a little disheartened.

slide_3.jpg

Over 400 billion dollars have come into the crypto market. I seriously doubt that all this capital came in from new crypto investors like you and me. The central banks are afraid of crypto and the loss of control and they are fighting back. They are fighting crypto at both ends. On one side they are trying to destroy it and on the other side, they are trying to control it. Look what happened yesterday. 200 billion was pulled from the market at the prices dropped 50%. Then the next day it came back in and prices restored. This was clearly a test. A little flexing of their new muscle. The " people in control" are clearly back in control.

pope-urbi.jpg

So what does Jesus have to do with all of this? Jesus knew something about the reality of the world and he tried to share it with anyone who would listen. Most people didn't want to hear it. He was feared and they Killed him. Later, after his death, they started to come around. The majority were people who twisted his ideas in order to gain money, power, and prestige.

1_hw58-W8NOzi3uofMCSLdEg.png

Bitcoin has been twisted from its original idea. Have you seen the transactions fees for bitcoin? Crypto has been twisted from its original idea. The best we can do is to stay true to our origins and keep preaching. Its been over 2000 years and very slowly more and more people are coming to understand the Jesus message. I hope it doesn't take that long for a control free system of wealth transfer. In the meantime I cringe while friends are overcome with greed and buying coins like verge and ripple while at the same time have no idea what they are supporting.

I support steem. Its a perfect example of the blockchain. Sure I could have made more money in Bitcoin, but money isnt everything. Freedom is.

Image source 1
Image source 2
Image source 4
Image source 3
Image source 5

sostrin_red.png

Sort:  

Bitcoin is a Diamond @sostrin , Merry Christmas bro

thank you all the best wishes to you , thank you very much for Upvote me

I'm sorry @sostrin, I didnt see this in time to upvote this post or comment then. You made a lot of good points in this post. I'm glad you found steemusa! Don't give up!

What a great post and to a degree we are on a similar path. It I think you have learnt more about crypto and the block chain whereas I still have a lot to learn

But I am seeing the attitude of people in general change and becoming more open to the crypto world in general and even have had a few friends join Steemit recently and are asking more about crypto as well

I do believe it is the new wave and we need to be on it

I wish people were more open for the right reasons. It is good to be on this part of the wave. Heres a tip. Take some of your crypto profits and buy Hard assets

Yes I agree many are focused on what I feel are the wrong things these days in so many areas

I have decided to focus and build up on Steem for at least another year most likely two so will be powering up on here if my other crypto investments which are all small but if they do well then I will see

But then again if the Steem price flies high then I may need to re-evaluate but for now my focus on Steem is the community

Thank you for sharing this valuable information @sostrin. A very merry Christmas to you and yours!

True, we can call it as test, when something new thing enters in the world, most of the people will engage after any trending news of that or when they start knowing that everyone is using it. You have done your efforts by promoting cryptocurrency to others, now its their decision to join or not. You keepup your great work, much more heights to attain. Thanks for sharing.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

This is very well put.

When Christianity was counter-culture, persecuted, and laughed at, it thrived and fulfilled it's purpose. The message was unstoppable. As soon as Christianity went mainstream, next thing we know we're mingling the faith with all of our favorite Pagan practices, and the message becomes greatly diluted.

I agree that cryptocurrencies were never meant to be treated like a stock or investment. It was meant to be an alternate form of exchange for tangible goods and services. It was not just supposed to be exchanged just for other cryptocurrencies, but things like groceries and paying your electric bill. Or your plumber.

When bitcoin was young, people began using is as intended, for trade. And advocates of Bitcoin were mocked. Yet, Bitcoin was fulfilling it's purpose. As we see it go mainstream, the point of it all is becoming watered down and people only see it as an investment, a part of their portfolio. Just as nobody purchases their groceries with a fraction of a stock, nobody will purchase their groceries with Bitcoin. (Yet.)

This may sound strange, but I'm sad to see bitcoin explode in value so quickly like this. Not because I "missed the boat", or that I think it's a "bubble", but because it's a sign that it's being valued for the wrong reasons. If it really was the blockchain that everyone is amazed by and willing to put their money into, then more modern and optimized currencies would be doing better. But they're not. People just like having the bragging rights of owning this trendy investment, BITCOIN. And they profit from it. More power to them. May Bitcoin continue to grow and never come tumbling down. Because if it does, it's quite possible all the other (and better) coins will come tumbling down too. And that's unfair, since it would delegitimize a legitimate and greatly improved form of exchange in favor of an inferior and highly manipulated FED issued fiat "legal tender." Someday this paper might become "legal tinder" for our fireplaces.

I want to earn STEEM and I want to trade STEEM for tangibles. That is the future of STEEM, if it is to survive. This is the "message" of cryptocurrencies. STEEM on! @ironshield

bitcoin has a good profit. Merry Christmas, friend

Fascinating my good sir. Thank you for sharing and organizing these thoughts. I'm HODL'n for now.

merry chirstmas

@sostrin
thanks for your support!

I like your take on things. People are slowly starting to open up and look into crypto. My friend just recently wanted to find out more about it and wants me to fill him in. Merry Christmas! I believe things are looking good for 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29