UK Banks are now closing customer accounts that send money to BTC exchanges

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I just now found the Tweet of a Twitter user that got his Bank account closed for sending Money to BTC exchanges.

His tweet said:

.@santanderuk are now closing down accounts of anyone that sends to #BTC exchanges. The anti-competitive UK banking system must be broken up.

Sort:  

This started a couple of years ago when they did the same thing with businesses that sold or interfaced with bitcoin.

Bittylicious (a UK business that sells bitcoins) tried to raise attention on this issue then.

Seems they are stepping things up now.

It is despicable but not surprising, this is why they will fail ultimately. They think they can do what they like - and for the longest time they have been able to do that by buying politicians and governments.

That reign is coming to an end though. Those that try to fight cryptocurrencies will end up failing.

Thankfully not all major banks are partaking in these shenanigans.

Those who have the foresight to adopt them and make use of them will succeed.

It is financial evolution.

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/844951028449624066

ho way to stomp on the banks :) give use transaction free money :D no fees for you :D

Soul_Eater_43 The Cryptofiend tweeted @ 23 Mar 2017 - 16:36 UTC

#UK #Banks are now closing customer accounts that send money to #BTC exchanges — @Steemit

steemit.com/bitcoin/@soldr… / https://t.co/YMZVjZPZUm

#banksters

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This is pretty common knowledge for most Bitcoin users, it seems to happen if you label your transfers and so on anything to do with Bitcoin, if you don't mention Bitcoin anywhere you should be fine.

like with everything lists are hard to organize and people on them tend to get fucked, being jailed is a pretty good example, just having your name on the list, means you are a sub-human :D those ideas are pretty much toxic, no wonder so many people are "broken"

I read somewhere that some banks are getting together to put together a plan to stop BTC. All I can say is good luck. I stay away from large national banks and stick with local and regional banks. Makes me want to buy more cryptocurrency! Great post and a lot of great responses.

During the litecoin rush i sold crypto mining rigs thru ebay and paypal. my bank was linked to paypay. my bank at the time CO-OP shut down my account that i'd had for 8 years and stopped all my transactions even tho i had £3,000 in my account. they gave me no warning, just stopped my card and any transactions and then when i rung them, they told me that i'd missed a direct debit payment 6 MONTHS AGO n told me they didn't want my type of business!!!, WTF, i'd payed the missed DD charges.
didnt make sense.
Whats gets me is if they did close my account bcos of crypto then thats means they were watching my ebay acc!

welcome to the 21st century, you are free, to be watched and monitored, I think they have just followed the money, if you move them they can see it from point to point :) sounds reasonable

Very odd, when you consider that Santander are the only British bank you can use to buy Bitcoin on Wall of Coins. I suspect there is more to this.

Money laundering?

But it's not that Bitcoin is illegal in the UK, right?

naaah, just trading and exchanging seems like it's bad for business :D

I think Santander is true against bitcoin becouse polish "BZ WBK" who belongs to Santander group terminates the contracts aswell when You transfer to btc exchange

When I tried purchasing Ethereum through Coinbase, my bank would freeze my card. I had to explain to them that I authorized that transaction. Finally, after talking them, I can successfully buy it :d

I had the same experience with Coinbase and my bank.

No way. I wonder if banks set it up like that

When I called them they said it was because the transaction appeared suspicious.

yeah, they are listed as scams probably, people who use digital mumbo jumbo are insane anyways :D the net doesn't exist we are probably staring at black screens :D

This has been going on for quite a while in the US. A couple of years ago Chase closed thousands of accounts that were receiving cash deposits to avoid some trumped up laundering rackets. They literally destroyed small businesses in the process, some of whom had been banking with them for a long time. BofA and WF have both been known to close accounts of those they suspect of trading BTC. When they do so, the funds are held for two weeks before returned to the owners.
When Chase started doing it, there was an article in one of the major disinformation rags in which they were lauded and it was pointed out that all banks should follow their lead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25