I now have Bitcoin Cash, symbol: BCH on Ledger Nano S and this is how you split the coin and receive your New Bitcoin Cash if BTC was on private keys

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

On the Chrome app on your computer Open Ledger Manager and download the BCC-BCH app on Ledger device.

This may require you to delete other coin apps, but keep bitcoin, add BCC. Once it's on the device/Ledger:

Open the Bitcoin Cash application on the Ledger device,

Open the Bitcoin Wallet Chrome app
Select Settings / Blockchains / Cash / Split

Click on Receive, write down the address : I usually copy it and paste in email or google doc temporarily...
Copy the address and then go back to the BCC Wallet app page
Select Settings / Blockchains / Cash / Main

Click on Send, paste the wallet address, and send to this address.

Give it a minute then you will have the two apps on the Ledger : BTC and BCH (Cash), and you will have an equal amount of BHC as you had BTC. Comprende ?

Sort:  

Hey, sorry, unfortunately even this has lost me. What is Ledger Manager? Do you mean:

  • Go to the Chrome web store?
  • Download Ledger Manager?

I did that and it says "To begin, connect your Ledger Wallet. If asked, enter your pin code."

So I need to create a Ledger wallet? I see you can add a Ledger Wallet for Bitcoin. Just did that.
But I tried to find a Ledger Wallet for Bitcoin Cash and they don't have one.

I see there's a Bitcoin Cash Price Ticker. Should I add that?

And what do you mean by the Ledger device?

Sorry if I'm being dense. I actually haven't done any of these things before.

The ledger device is your Ledger Nano S
start here:
https://www.ledgerwallet.com/start

Click on Apps to see the wallets and the Manager App. BCC or BCH is a wallet that uses the Bitcoin Wallet, just like Litecoin, you control it by clicking on the LTC or BCH, etc on you Nano S

Ohhh, sorry! That didn't occur to me. I don't have a Ledger Nano yet, but I want one. My BTC is on a hot wallet.

Congratulations @silverbit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98