Before bitcoin: how a currency is changing your life perspective

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Over the past few months, I’ve been thinking of all the ways Bitcoin has changed my life. Not just in terms of monetary sovereignty, but also changed me as a person and how I view the world.

Before Bitcoin, I was a republican who didn’t like republicans. I know most would say an easy fix is to become a Democrat, but I couldn’t handle their policies or politicians either. I was stuck in a conundrum and it wasn’t until I found bitcoin that I realized, I’m a libertarian.

Bitcoin pushes us to explore the world more fully and not just that, but to understand it as well. As I researched Bitcoin, I began to look into the government along with the federal reserve and other central banks. As you dig in, you find out all the inner workings and just how badly our monetary system is hurting us. It’s a form of slavery enforced on all of us. Bitcoin is the freedom from this.

Before Bitcoin, I was still an investor, however I’ve changed how and where I invest. Clearly, I can see now that I was only after a quick buck with no regard to what I was investing in. I could disagree fully with the company I was investing in (ethically/morally) but if I felt money could be made, I was all over it. Today, my perspective has changed - if I don’t believe ethically or morally with an investment, I won’t invest. Why?

I believe bitcoin gave us a new life. I now believe that my vote (or my investment) actually matters and can make a difference with it. If you look around, this is why everyone is so passionately engaged in this space. It is why people have such strong unbreakable opinions in crypto. I know it’s frustrating at times, but view it as more a strength of the community. We may disagree with each other, but we are together on making crypto great, usable, and widespread.

Sadly, I don’t believe I was extremely early entering this space, but I am extremely grateful for my involvement in it and how it has shaped my life. For this, I am eternally grateful to Bitcoin and Satoshi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54