Have I missed the BTC boat?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I sold my Bitcoin at $2,800 to start stakebuilding in other cryptos that I strongly believe in, namely Bitshares, Eos and Steemit.

However I am thinking twice about holding on to some Bitcoin and enjoying the ride.

Realistically, how high can it go??

Sort:  

Most crypto's can only be bought with Bitcoin, so when Bitcoin increases value in dollars then this applies to most altcoins as well.
The way I see it, if you put your money in the right altcoins, you profit double because you gain $ when btc goes up but you also gain value when your altcoin goes up. Ofcourse, if you pick losing altcoins then Bitcoin may go up but your altcoin may go down. So it's a bigger gamble but also bigger gains to be had.

I see Bitcoin going over $4000 for sure at some point, so you may end up doubling your money. But you have to ask yourself if it's not possible to get much more than double your money by investing in altcoins.

My suggestions is to go 50/50 whenever in doubt.. Just keep part of your crypto in Bitcoin and the other in altcoins. Then whenever you spot a superb oppurtunity to buy something cheaply, or a new altcoin, you will have funds ready to buy at the most opportune times. This way you get the best of both worlds, spread the risk around

Dont know why steem dont follow btc no real reasons.

Ethereum is up 10% over the last month. Bitcoin is up 32% over the same period. There's pent up demand for Bitcoin because people were waiting to see what would happen after the fork. Now they're buying.

Today I sold 2 Ethereum and used the money to buy Bitcoin.

How high could it go? It could be $5000 by the end of the year.

diversification is great. keep buying.
we are not even in the first inning yet.. still choosing sides!

If you think of ROI in terms of percentages STEEM, BTS and EOS are much more likely to outperform BTC over the next 12-24 months (which should be your minimum investment timeline).

BTC will likely be north of $5k by the end of the year. But BTS could/should be north of $1, STEEM $5 and EOS should hit >$30 by Q2 2018 when the live chain is released.

I too sold the majority of my BTC for STEEM/BTS/EOS and it can be a bit disconcerting to watch BTC climb while your coins don't. But eventually the BTC value flows into the alts as investors rebalance their portfolios and the alts skyrocket, usually 4-6 months after a big BTC boom.

Or at least, that's been my experience over the last five or so years.

I think you nailed it on the head with watching the rise of BTC while the alts I believe in aren't moving so much.

I am investing in the technology and I genuinely believe that right now BTS is second to none. There isn't any other blockchain like it out there. However that needs to convert into value.

I've been following the Billion Hero Campaign since it launched on 4th July, however even though it's only been a month there's very little news or information out there about it.

I've seen some podcasts that Michael Taggert and Stan have done, and I believe Stan is speaking today at an event so hopefully this will bring more attention to this fantastic technology.

Steemit will be my next big stakebuilding drive and then Eos. However with Eos I'm investing on Dans reputation and I'm yet to fully understand exactly what you can do with Eos tokens.

Greatly appreciate your posts John I think it was something of yours that got me into BTS in the first place. I'd really like to discuss further with you if possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75