Living off bitcoin - a tale of both fortune and misfortune

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit,

I've been on here for a while now. My son told me to join steemit as a means to make some extra cash on the side. I was skeptical but I decided to register an account and tried interacting with a few comments here and there. He told me it doesn't matter what I write about ... I was very skeptical of that too.

My son wanted to teach me how to use cryptocurrency and trade steem $ for cash. This seemed like a headache for me and I found no joy in his lectures. He walked me through how to send money from his bank account to an exchange where we traded it for bitcoin. He overwhelmed me with information on how I can invest the bitcoin, mentioning steem as a promising investment. Still, I didn't feel enthusiastic about the whole thing as I had been struggling with money as it was and couldn't see how this type of activity wasn't a waste of my time.

One day, as my son was explaining how to store bitcoin in paper wallets, I realised he was unwell. I refused to listen to any more nonsense about bitcoin until he went to see a doctor but he had already been . . . Months ago he said.

My son has since passed away.

While he grew weaker learning about cryptocurrency was difficult but offered a distraction. My son had invested in bitcoin when it was worth 30c and only when I realised he was ill he finally told me about his fortune.

It's difficult to describe the emotions I was feeling from realising all in one day that my son had enough money to live luxuriously without working, pay off my debts for me, and was fatally ill. I am disgusted in myself for feeling an ounce of anger mixed in with all the other emotions. It took me quite some time to accept the money he was offering. Partially because he wasn't offering it as money ...

He was teaching me about bitcoin because he wants me to be invested in bitcoin. He refused to sell it for me before his time was up. I have sold portions to pay off my debts, but the remainder is now held in various cryptocurrencies. My confidence in myself as an investor is gradually growing as I've been reading as much as I can about cryptocurrencies, often using steemit to stay up to date.

This is my way of keeping my sons legacy alive.

Signed,

@serendipitie .

P.S.

Please respect that I am still grieving and may not respond to comments for some time.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @serendipitie I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you for sharing your story, so sorry to hear about your son. Welcome to Steemit @serendipitie

Very sorry to hear about your son - sounds like an amazing guy. Maybe at some point put a small portion aside and donate it to a charity in his name. Maybe something he might have felt strongly about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39