How to import Bitcoin Cash from Jaxx using Exodus

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hi Steemians,

I've been waiting a long time - just like many others – for Jaxx to support and import Bitcoin Cash, getting our hands on a little "extra" alt-investment value to play with. After some due diligence research weeks (months?) ago I decided the solutions were either too clunky, unsafe (potentially exposing my private keys and BTC wallets), or not worth the hassle due to iOS incompatibility (Coinomi would have been simple enough if it weren't for both my 6P and OnePlus still suffering from heavy, late-night drops...)

So, I sit here again on a weekend with Jaxx developers claiming BCH is "just around the corner", annoyed I'm not in control – with value laying dead. Round 2 search landed me in a moment of bliss getting it done just now so I'd like to quickly share how I did it. Ended up having a lot more than I anticipated and am quite chuffed about that –– since it will now be spent all on S-Powering up once I'm done here!

Steps

  • Head over to Exodus Wallet and download their desktop client (Linux, Mac, Windows)

  • Whip out your Jaxx wallet on desktop. Go to "Menu", then "Tools", then "Display Private Keys", then "Display Bitcoin Keys". (you can do this step on mobile put it'll be a real pain transcribing the keys)

  • The "trick" is to import your Bitcoin private keys as Bitcoin Cash private keys within Exodus. Here's step-by-step instructions and my screen grab.

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 01.52.18.png

  • Copy your Bitcoin private keys from Jaxx and paste them in the box. Click import.

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 01.53.47.png

  • Repeat for all your Bitcoin private keys (even if they are empty) – a private key with 0 BTC may still import Bitcoin Cash. Also, expect many of the keys to have no Bitcoin Cash.

Now you've got your Bitcoin Cash handy to convert into Steem and Steem-Power-up-we-go!

Sort:  

Great post, please keep us imformed

I will! Thank you for commenting @ahuruglica :)

Yes! You Are finally writing stuff! I love it!

Whoop whoop! I'm fighting through writing and mental block by – writing. Thanks for the support :)

Thank you for the MEGA upvote boost - wow! #YouAreAwesome @susanne

Congratulations @sean33paul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sweet man! We need to talk, cause I am seriously in the dark about this ...

Good info. I just finally claimed my BCH from Trezor.
It was a nice little bonus.

We have some more fork fun on the horizon.
Since I benefited from the last fork, I am considering consolidating coins into bitcoin and leaving them on a hardware wallet...

What's your plan for the next forks?
What risks do you think are involved if using a hardware wallet?

Have a good day. Thanks again for the cool question to ask Ned.

Congratulations @sean33paul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67749.41
ETH 3262.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64