Bitcoin transaction fees at yearly LOWsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Good news everyone!

This morning I made a Bitcoin transaction with 61 sat / byte and got a confirmation 2 blocks later. The last time this was possible was January this year; in fact only a few weeks ago before the activation of SegWit, tx fees reached an all-time high of up to 500 sat / byte.

That is a reduction of nearly 90% of the transaction fees in only a few weeks!

The chart below from bitcoinfees.info shows the historic fees over the past 12 months:

fees chart.JPG

I think this is really good news, along with the rumour that China (once again) plans on unbanning Crypto we might be entering a proper bull market soon.
The only big uncertainty left now is the Segwit2x fork which is happening soon now. I personally hope that the 2x fork will be the successful one, as it was agreed in the first place when the Segwit fork happened back in July / August.

Will exchanges adopt the lower fees, too?

Many exchanges and transfer services increased their static withdrawal fees earlier this year, due to the surge of transaction fees. I hope they will soon act and reduce these fees again now the fees are "back to normal"!

Website tipp

https://bitcoinfees.21.co/ shows a collection of transaction in the Mempool and calculates the best / fastest transaction fee. I always double check before I make transaction so I can adjust the fees of my wallet if necessary.

What is your opinion on the topic? Did you notice the heavy reduction in fees recently? Which fork will you support?


Subscribe to my blog for Crypto News, Trading Tips, ICO Analysis and more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98