Skeptical of the Amazon will accept Bitcoin in October News, here is why...

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Ok, so you may have seen posts today already about Amazon getting ready to accept bitcoin in late October.


image source

Though I believe that they will indeed accept bitcoin at some point, this October 26th announcement that is being thrown around has be largely skeptical.

Here is Why:

This "news" stems from a James Altucher "report" relying on his inside knowledge given he is friends with a lot of silicon valley big names and hedge fund managers.

Ok, that is cool and all. I could get down with that.....except,

It's a Marketing Document!

This "report" is not a report. That information was within a long piece of marketing material for his Bitcoin newsletter/course.

I just read it and even plugged in my email to see what I would receive; which just turned out to be the next webpage with the offer for a one year or two year subscription.

Nothing wrong with any of this. He's marketing which is cool. I market my real estate education and my book ScaredyCatGuide to Investing in Rental Properties regularly (which, you can find on Amazon using that link)

However, it is one thing to market what you can teach someone, it's another to make specific claims about future events. The latter you cannot guarantee and with no word from any other media outlets (or Amazon itself) you are a gambling on his claim that is again, within a piece of marketing material.

Play at your own risk.

Backing Up The Truck?

So again, I do think Amazon will accept bitcoin at some point. Am I going to back up the truck today and load up on Bitcoin at this very moment based off this "news" item alone. Uhm, nope. I will continue to invest in it as planned.

This is just my opinion and what is right for me though.

Just wanted to make sure people were clear on the source of this news, given I have seen it listed other places and there were not references to the marketing material, just that it was James Altucher.

Steemit_txtdvidr.png

Best Regards,
Scaredy Cat Guide Logo_SiteHeader3.jpg

Sort:  

I hope this news doesn't bump up the price of Bitcoin, as I'm holding some Tether and waiting for it to drop a little more...

This post received a 20% vote by @eternal.witness courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Always giving the love @scaredycatguide.... I think you are right about Amazon. I think October is a little early, but still good news.

I have been writing to customer service on amazon for over a year asking when and if they would implement bitcoin as a payment. I think we should all do this and to all different fortune 500 companies. Show them the demand for cryptos.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Nice little article there mate

Thanks bro! Someone needed to point it out :-)

You can already buy in amazon with BTC using Purse.io (try it, no giftcard at all, it is an actual amazon mirror site that accept BTC, from actual amazon sellers and with discount)...
If amazon makes it official and build an BTC address would be BIG news, it should push the BTC price up...

Was not aware of the Purse option, cool!

Yep its pretty awesome, there actually some sellers that will send the product and you release the BTC just after you receive your product

The fact that Purse.io is still around and going strong blows my mind. At a glance, it seems like it would be a paradise for carders.

Honestly pretty surprised more online retailers that are pioneers in the disruptuve business model already dont accept it. Jmbullion is smart enough to take it. They have made a killing selling precious metal for btc

Think it's just a matter of time with Amazon. They probably want to see the price action of it more stable though.

I believe you can currently buy gift cards with BTC at Amazon.com to pay for items. Sounds like this will just ease the process!

I have heard there is a website (I forget which) that you give your BTC to and they buy Amazon items for you with their cash, shipped to you.

That is cool if so. I'm looking forward to when they accept bitcoin, just don't know that it will be the time frame claimed in that report.

Thank you for this post. Hope to get more updates

If more mainstream retailers start to accept bitcoin,
the stronger the crypto world will become,
this will also push crypto into mass public attension,
which will also strengthen crypto.
The finances of the world is going to change!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95