Sort:  

@samuel-swinton I agree seems like the central point is always the weakness.

I agree. It isn't just a bottleneck for transactions but also a very public hacking target.

Not only that, it's also a source of unnecessary additional fees. Exchanges are mostly non-producing middle-men, only necessary for trust reasons. (They can also be liquidity providers, but generally speaking.)

"only necessary for trust reasons" exactly, and the blockchain allows for trustless transactions. I feel that they will only exist in the infancy of decentralization.

For sure. They are only around as a legacy tech from our previous days of "dumb" financial markets.

Yep anytime you put a big stack of BTC in one spot it is a bounty to test the security of the system. the bigger the honey pot the more attacks... it either proves secure and the bounty stays or the hackers win and the btc goes to the winner of the bounty. @dan is super smart to add time as the safe guard with steem power and the dpos idea. I have seen a few people recover their accounts here on steem and cancel the power down. This made me feel much more safe with securing the coin an why I bought 1200 steem September 2017. Now i have over 1400 sp and it keeps growing.

"Yep anytime you put a big stack of BTC in one spot it is a bounty to test the security of the system. "

Not only security, but you also are tempting the humans involved in the system! Everyone has their price.

I completely agree with the safety feelings that power-downs provide, even though they are often inconvenient for other, unrelated reasons.

The powerdown also helps me from doing stupid things and acting too fast. I like this aspect of it. I also know that if I need some funds that I can power it down and use it. Steem is the first time I have ever had a "savings" account where I enjoy saving and it is fun to vote with my "savings" and add to others steemy bank.

You are absolutely correct. Selling too early is just as bad as selling too late. Thanks to the PD cycle, I've saved a lot of Steem I might have sold cheaper.

yeah so glad I did not trade any back then... I am using my SBD I earn to play with and make profits outside of steem and with the 50/50 setting I am sure to keep building my SP.... looking so forward to the new year! Keep stackin them coins my friend... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48