Figuring out Gann, PT I

in #bitcoin6 years ago


Image Source

Gann is a mystery to me. I remember wanting to trade numbers based off of his work in college, but was very confused. Similiar to searching for a trading system based off of Pythagoras, Gann ran the range of the sacred to the esoteric. And he made a lot of money at it too.

Looking into Gann a bit today, I found the idea of Gann angles. The premise (from I can tell), is that you pick a high or a low, and draw a 45 degree angle from that point. The Gann angles then populate with any app/drawing program into different ratios/sector. One strategy from a high is :

a) buy once price closes above the 45% angle down from the high
b) sell once price closes below the 2:1 angle from the low subsequent to the high

Makes sense, yes? I don't know, but here are some buy examples today:

Screenshot 2018-09-20 at 8.18.52 PM.png

Bitcoin is above the 1:1 trendline from the most recent high; that is a buy and a sell would happen after prices drops below the upward 2:1 trendline

Screenshot 2018-09-20 at 8.20.32 PM.png

Ethereum is long, with a wait on a price drop below the 2:1 trendline.

Screenshot 2018-09-20 at 9.24.17 PM.png

EOS is long with a wait for a drop below the 2:1 trendline.

Screenshot 2018-09-20 at 8.21.14 PM.png

Monero is also long with a wait for a drop below the 2:1 trendline.

Gann is confusing to me, but I guess it makes sense. My hope is to track some of these ideas as I keep moving forward. Will it pay off? I have no idea. Good luck and good fortune to us all.

Sort:  

As a trader, this is a beautiful post to spot. Thanks for visiting my blog. I wondered who you were I'm glad to have stopped by here. Would love to have you in my discord once in a while. :) Followed/Resteemed.

cool, haven't figured out the whole discord thing yet, but would love to talk shop. thanks for stopping by !

Congratulations @sagesigma! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📈 7d
BTCBitcoin6665.239$3.67%2.5%
EOSEOS5.760$9.19%8.6%
ETHEthereum228.136$8.42%7.25%
XMRMonero119.184$5.96%4.55%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84