First time I heard about Bitcoin back in 2010

in #bitcoin7 years ago

First time i heard about Bitcoin was back in 2010. At that time i started my new IT job at a bank. I never heard the word cryptocurrencies before not yet Bitcoin or what it was. My coworker from the IT department started telling me how people would like to get paid in Bitcoin for goods they sell online. That Bitcoin was a new form of payment. Yet this is totally new and not everyone knows about it. He kept going and to me it sounded like a scam or a payment that is not legal.
After he was done telling me about Bitcoin I never thought about it again. Heck I did not even bother going online and doing some more research on it. In 2013 I quit my job at the bank and started a new one but I kept in touch with my coworker from the bank. So a few years passed and now we are in 2017. This is the year when again I heared the name Bitcoin. My cousin from Germany called me and he started talking about Bitcoin and how it will replace fiat currencies. I spent the night researching all this and ended up opening an account on Coinbase.com. Alright, at this point everything started to make sense and how Bitcoin works what it does and all the other good stuff you can do with it. I started buying Bitcoin, Ethereum and Litecoin on Coinbase.com. But at that time March 2017 the price of Bitcoin was over $1000. Thats when I thought I wish I bought Bitcoin back in 2010. Wow i would have made a lots of money. I send an text message to my coworker back at the bank telling him I wish I would have better payed attention when he was telling me about Bitcoin. I started watching youtube videos to educate myself. I am a big a fan of Crypt0 and Jeff Berwick. I learned a lot from these guys and its awesome that they share the knowledge with others. Now i am educating my friends and family and I am helping them buy Bitcoin.

Sort:  

Even if you miss the recent price hike in Bitcoin, there are still a lot of promising cryptos in the market today. For example, Neo, Steem, ... etc.

you are right meyrep. I did end up buying other crypto and continue buying more.

Congratulations @rusko! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57