Sort:  

When it comes to your life saving, a few minutes of effort aren't "too much work." ;)

Why would doing it manually be the only secure way though? If you don't trust a webpage as it might record the key, you could still use it as a source of randomness and still end up with the same level of security. You can use a webpage to generate parts of your private key in the correct format and then use a dice to shuffle them around. It will save you a lot of time and I don't think it's any less secure as the page owner would have no clue how you are using the keys they have generated for you and it will save you all the manual work and conversion.

Computers are a very poor source of randomness. You need a good source of entropy, and machines are not that.

I'm not saying dice are the only secure way. What I am saying is that, when I use my own dice and roll them myself in privacy, then I know that the private key I have created is unquestionably private.

Think of it as a relatively inexpensive way of constructing a bank vault...

"...the page owner would have no clue how you are using the keys they have generated for you..."

Seriously? If someone has created a honey trap web page explicitly for generating keys, you don't think they have the skills to scan crypto blockchains for hits?

Why would you trust a complete stranger like that, Dave? Doesn't sound at all like you... ;)

Computers are good enough source of randomness for that purpose if used right.

I'm not saying use an online generated key as is ;)

You can generate 10 supposed keys off a webpage (or webpages to mix it up more). And then throw dice to determine what segments you get from each key. You get the building blocks in the right format so you don't have to convert and then you randomize with the dice. Sounds secure enough to me and yes, the page owner can't really know what you're doing in that case which is what I was referring to.

But I also see no harm in being a bit overly paranoid about something like this, as you said, if it's your savings, you're always better safe than sorry. I just see your method as a tiny bit of overkill.

Still, it's really nice for you to share your worksheets with the community and I'm sure people are going to make use of those.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34