You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Experience Using the Bitpay Debit Card for a Few Months

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Thanks I was wondering about that card and its good in the US? Have you had any blocks trying to make purchases? So whatever is in the wallet I can spend just like a normal debit? Thanks for posting @calaber24p

Sort:  

You have to transfer Bitcoin from your bitpay wallet to the card and it takes only 3 confirmations to be able to use your money with the card, once you transfer the Bitcoin to the card there is no way back, they take your Bitcoin at the market price. I have this card myself, but I do use the coinbase shift card as well, I like both. Shift card do not freeze your Bitcoin at market price, you don't need to transfer the BTC to the card, the card it is linked to your coin base wallet, what ever you spend with the card they just substract it from your wallet no matter what's the Bitcoin price at the time of the purchase.

No blocks yet, there have been a few online services though that dont recognize it as a valid card for some reason. Probably has something to do with the database they pull from. But I can easily use another site.

Thanks for you reply much appreciated :)

Look into Shift Visa Debit. It ties to a Coinbase wallet (BTC, LTC, Eth) and debits directly from it at POS. No topping off, or topping off fees. Available in the US - most if not all states now.

great thanks, I was going to look into the bitpay one too. But I will look into the Shift one. Would you happen to have a link? knowing me if I google it Ill sign up for a shift card belonging to Chase haha.
Thanks

https://www.shiftpayments.com/card/
US Only:
AK, AL, AR, AZ, CA, CO, DC, DE, FL, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MO, MS, MT, NC, NE, NH, NJ, NM, NV, NY, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WV

The card is $10. They need to verify you (KYC). Once they send the card, link it to your coinbase account. TADA!
You can link it to a Dwolla account, but Dwolla doesn't do bitcoin anymore.
The Shift Visa Debit Card is issued by Metropolitan Commercial Bank

Thank you FL and NJ Yesssss lol
Thanks so much for talking the time to post this I am on this right now :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62