Quick warning about MultiBit HD issues.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Although many people are already aware of issues with the MultiBit HD wallet I thought I'd just like to reiterate that I have had nothing but bother with it for the past 2 weeks and have finally managed to get all my BTC out of the wallet after countless problems.

Firstly the correct password was not recognised, constant restores proved fruitless, finally got in and sent my coins to another wallet only to have it go down as a double spend.

I then managed to import in to Breadwallet (https://breadwallet.com), waited a day and the coins arrived after the latest failed send came back. I was then able to transfer my coins to another more reliable wallet.

For any newbies out there be there careful with MultiBit HD. I was pretty sure my coins were safe but if I had not be doing this a long time I would have been very nervous.

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up on multibit.
I was just signing up with them about the same time as you were writing your post. Wish I would have known. On the pwd issue, I had a problem with copy-and-paste. Multibit was picking up a bunch of extra characters ... somehow. Fixed by typing the pwd rather than copy-and-paste.
It's been week since I've tried to get some coin. Registered with 4 different exchanges and have not been verified (or rejected or gotten any response) from 3 of the 4. Coinbase is the only one showing any progress but their 12 and 24 timeout penalties for screwing up don't help. It's been a week with them just trying to get a CC recognized.

Yes verification does seem to be taking an age at some of the exchanges. Seems there is unprecedented demand. That being said you would have thought they would try to speed up the process.

Congratulations @retailtrader! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I have an history about how I saved my bitcoins from multibit wallet. Please, see my blog (sorry, but it is still in portuguese and has to be translated).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62