GIFT CARDSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Have you ever bought on of these?

20170930_073542.png

If you are like most people in this world, then you probably buy 1 or 2 gift cards a year. They're ideal for that hard to buy for person, or maybe a last minute gift. They are quick and easy gifts. I can remember on year that was all my wife and I bought was gift cards. In fact chances are you may have one in your wallet or purse right now, yeah they get tucked away and forgotten about.

Screenshot_20170930-073844.jpg

If you still buy gift cards to this day then you may want to think about something. Research shows that since 2005 there has been 41 billion dollars lost or never used when it comes to gift cards. Now think about this for a second, 41 billion dollars that has not been used or lost. That number is amazingly high. Thats 41 billion dollars worth of profit that was given to the big retail companies.

I know what you are thinking, it's just so easy to pick up a gift card, and you are right. But there is something else that is just as easy.

20170930_073631.png

Thats right send them some Bitcoin or maybe some other crypto currency, I mean all you would have to do is have them set up a crypto wallet. More and more companies are starting to take Bitcoin, soon Amazon will start taking Bitcoin (I hope).

41 Billion dollars, remember that number next time you go in and give a retailer your money for a gift card. Remember this they get their money when you buy the gift card, so essentially they have sold their product and will keep it untill the gift card holder decides they want to come in and pick it up.

20170930_073603.png

Don't do it, send them Bitcoin instead

20170924_184425.png

If Bitcoin isn't your thing you can always send them some real money (((silver or gold)))

2017-06-28 07.37.27.png

Read the full article

http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2011/12/27/144308234/lost-money-41-billion-in-gift-cards-havent-been-redeemed-since-2005

Thanks for stopping by

steemsilvergold_logo_by_pawos-1.jpg

Visit #steemsilvergold

follow me @raybrockman

giphy (11).gif

Don't forget to Upvote

1gxbq4.gif

Sort:  

This year, I'll be giving out a lot of silver rounds.

Here is one I'll be giving out most, as it seem to fit my personality.

Darth Round.jpg

It should generate a lot of conversation.

Can i get on your Christmas list?

Very nice choice bro ;)

Hey... I kinda like that one (-:

Just had the exact thing happen today. I found a $20 gift card my son received for his birthday last year and it just expired last month.

Wow, what a same an expired gift cards, they tell yiu when you have to spend your money by. Crazy.. thanks for stopping by.

Great post Ray \o/ imagine a 25 dollar bitcoin giftcard/paper wallet that has sat in a drawer unused for 5 years next to an amazon giftcard of the same value, enough said lol :)

I found a paper wallet a few months ago that i had nearly discarded because it was just "dust" from a couple years ago -- over $50!!!

i once won 20 dollars from a well known faucet and 2 years later it was worth 110, paper money can't compete really can it :)

Very good point,,, thanks buddy

Great points my friend. Alot of times you'll use em and have a few bucks left that'll never get used too. Big money for big retail. I can't even spend all the movie money I get and then I'll get more at Xmas lol I wish ppl would give me BTC!

You got yours early this year bro-ham ;)

41 billion, wow that's a lot! I agree give them some real money. I was talking to my 76 year old neighbor the other day and he brought up bitcoin. So I know it's becoming mainstream 😀

Its coming, fast. Thanks for visit my friend.

Thankyou for sharing @raybrockman . . Interesting post . .

Goddamn Ray! From zero to Bitcoin Evangelist in what, like a week and a half? Lol

I LOVE IT!

Spread the word brother! Your preachin' to the choir over here ✨🤘😎✨

And yeah... gift cards are a heinous scam vs bitcoin or something truly shiny

Rock n Roll n Steem On!

Thanks brother, owe it all to you, the orginal OGB

You are too kind!
But check this out: i just powered up phatly!!!
Here's my new 100% at about 70 voting power...

Moo ah ha ha!

Holy shit! That is insane. I figured the number would be high but not in the tens of billions.. That is bigger than every cryptocurrency, but Bitcoin! haha

Yeah, it's crazy isn't it, that number is huge!!!

One of my friends always buys gift cards that are on sale from Ebay or another site! He had to get a suit for a wedding we were both in and it was like $250. He got a gift card online from someone who was selling a $250 gift card to that store for like $210. haha

I fucking hate gift cards! Great post man, nothing more corporate mafia than supporting all these chains, which are crap owned by the same oligarchs. Buy something original, unique, or local. Resteemed / Peace

I can tell, thanks buddy

Wow, I had no idea the figure was that high lol. NO MORE gift cards!! That is insane, but I can easily see how it happens.

Yeah, pretty big number. Thanks for dropping by @tamaralovelace

What?!?!?!?! 41 billion dollars? With a B? That's outrageous. I'm never buying gift cards again! Thank you for this extremely important information.

You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71