Cryptomarket : Blood in the streets, Wolves at the door! (Stay Calm)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Steemians, 

The last few days in the cryptomarket have been very red. This bloodshed combined with uncertainty and fear (FUD) towards the upcoming SegWit adoption on the 1st of August is causing a bit of a scary scene out on the streets and many are becoming casualties unnecessarily. 

The first and foremost point I would like to make--Stay Calm. 

That's right, relax. Have a Mojito by the pool and stop looking at the red on your screen. It isn't what you think and there are some good indicators here and beautiful opportunity as well. 

Here are some very important factors that you should be focused on:

  • Blockchain Projects are still moving forward, in fact, more so than ever
  • Adding to Poistions during bottoms creates excellent dollar-cost-average
  • Even if you sold at a loss, re-buying at a low could create a recovery
  • This downturn is an EMOTIONAL response, not a TECHNICAL one (there's nothing wrong)

For many new crypto-investers, the emotional response to their falling portfolio value was too much to bear (pun fully intended) and they sold at a loss hoping to save as much as they could. These investors are casualties of the current bloodbath and most will likely become unwilling to reinvest (missing out on the profit potential).

Strong Bearish downsides often resemble a bubble, and the emotional responses triggered always follows a recognizable pattern as seen below: 

As many sell off their positions to preserve FIAT currencies at a loss, the long term buyers step in during the Despair point to strengthen their portfolio, calmly preparing to take profit from these discounts when the market is more favorable. This is how wealth is built over time (not overnight). 

As I stated already, what we are seeing isn't a crash like many of the inexperienced crypto content creators may be calling it. There's no significant problem with the technology, no loss of integrity in the blockchain, or reason to remove your position. Nothing. Everything is the same. 

So what's changed? The people. People are scared, they are unsure and emotional and this fear spreads quickly into panic. No one actually knows the impacts of SegWit adoption and forking on the Bitcoin chain. It could be a much needed positive change reducing transactional delays and fees. It could be a placebo effect where nothing happens at all. No one is sure, we just have to wait and see. 

It's days like these where I simply relax. I don't focus on the lower numbers on my balance. I set price alerts for predicted low support levels and buy in to them in small amounts, taking opportunity at each new bottom. The way I look at it, if my portfolio is already in a loss, there's no point in selling the position. I just simply take steps to strengthen it in the long term. HODL and buy the dips as they say. 

All markets have peaks and they all have valleys. As long as the GROWTH continues there will always be more oppurtunity for GAINS

Just HODL and breath my friends, we'll be ok.

@rabbt


This is just my personal opinion, always do your own research before making any financial decisions. 

Sort:  

Will keep holding... sold a little of ETH while I was still in the plus and filled my IOTA wallet a little more since everything is so cheap at the moment. I'm just a little sad that I already reached my limit for investing in Crypto's since everything is just so affordable at the moment :D

Only thing I still can't help myself with is checking my portfolio like every other hour just to see where we're heading right now. Maybe I should just delete all apps related to my Cryptos and check again in some month ^^

But yeah, I totally agree. Everything invested in Coins I just consider "burnt". So I will definitely not sell with a loss... I knew what I was getting into and I didn't spend money I couldn't afford to lose. Maybe I'll not be able to afford something nice I could have bought instead but that's the game.

As long as we don't over-extend ourselves and don't put in scared money, there's nothing to really lose in crypto in my opinion. I bought some cheap coins today that I've been looking at but thought could be overpriced. They're not overpriced today ; )

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Vandaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

hi @rabbt, nice post! Just HODL and upvoted! As you said, now many are selling to fiat. Do you agree with my top 5 crypto's to buy now? Let me know what you think1

@unknowncrypto I am in a position on all the coins in your list with the exception of IOTA. I am especially partial to LTC right now with the recent full-time commitment of Charlie Lee to the network and the upcoming integration of the Lightning Network. It's my favorite. Good list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74