My crypto story #2

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I became a USD Crypto millionaire a week or so ago, on paper at least. How does it feel? To be honest , doesn't feel real and nor should it until I convert to FIAT.

images (2).jpeg

I met Vitalik at an event early 2016. Bought $10,000 worth of Ether and some bitcoin really just so I didn't look back in 10 years time and see ETH at 2000 and kick myself for the rest of my life having met such a key figure in this space.

I didn't check prices much and was generally flat to down for long periods. I didn't mind, I was mentally prepared to lose the $10,000. I lost 33% of my portfolio when Bitfinex got hacked. Annoying but again, not an issue, shit happens.

I just held on, or Hodl as they say. My first sell of Ether was at start of Dec 2017. I sold some to cover my initial investment and also sold some to diversify in XRP, QSP, TRX and NEO. Quite bizarrely XRP, QSP and TRX went through the roof and I made my first million.

People have told me to sell all through 2017, at key round numbers such as 100, 200, 300 etc. Everyone I know said I was crazy for holding. For me though, I was always holding for the long term, even though things moved quicker than I expected. In my mind there is probably 50% chance that I could lose 50%+ of value of my portfolio in 2018, however probably 20% by 2020 I will make $4million+. These % are just the way I think and based on nothing more than that!

I will continue to tweak my portfolio once every few months if I see new interesting tech/ideas, but I will never actively trade. Im not that interested in Cryptos to be following it every day and let it turn into an obsession. As I mentioned at the start, never get fooled into thinking its real money until you change it into FIAT or until it really does become a usable currency. If we get a really significant crash, it will crash like you will not believe and it will be hard to get out of positions easily.

I used to tell everyone I knew in 2016 to put 1% of your cash in cryptos, Ether in particular. These days, with all the craziness I no longer say that, but I do say go out and buy some, put a little in that you can afford to lose. You will learn a lot about cryptos and blockchain in the process.

Good luck to all those involved!

Anonymous,
Quora.

Link: https://www.quora.com/How-does-it-feel-to-become-a-crypto-millionaire-and-how-did-you-achieve-it/answers/69090050?share=599bb368&srid=K25a

Sort:  

I have only just got into the crypto market and I have become a bit obsessed with it. I have invested 2k into it which I am prepared to lose, but of course I don't want to. I keep telling myself that I'm in it to be a hodler, but checking the prices every few hours doesn't align with that. So thanks for your post because it has highlighted the mindset I need to be a long term investor and not a trader.

Congratulations on your investments and "kind of" joining the millionaire club! Wish I would have started when you did! I believe 2018 is going to be a great year for crypto. HODL on my friend!

Congratulations fellow crypto investor, I'm very happy for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62539.28
ETH 2437.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67