"I am hodling" Do You know from where the meme of the bitcoin is coming from?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

It is coming from a topic "I am hodling" on bitcointalk.org made at 18th December, 2013 10:03:03 GMT by GameKyuubi.

That day bitcoin crashed in a few hours from 900$ to 455$ after an announcement from BTC China that it would no longer be accepting new yuan deposits.

"I type d that tyitle twice because I knew it was wrong the first time. Still wrong. w/e. GF's out at a lesbian bar, BTC crashing WHY AM I HOLDING? I'LL TELL YOU WHY. It's because I'm a bad trader and I KNOW I'M A BAD TRADER. Yeah you good traders can spot the highs and the lows pit pat piffy wing wong wang just like that and make a millino bucks sure no problem bro..." (source : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=375643.msg4022997#msg4022997)

GameKyuubi was little bit drunken when he posted it as he was drinking whisky at a lesbian bar. So he mistyped the name of the topic.

And just 11 minutes later the first meme appeared on the topic.
1.jpg

And after the post in 32 minutes the "movement" started:

"LOOOOL !! I swear you just started a movement!
( the hodlers are here! )" by Zedicus

The term, hodling, means to hold onto your cryptocurrency coins, even if the market is crashing down.

So come on hodlers, we know all that bitcoin is going to the moon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37