You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Blockchain Technology Can Help The Internet Of Things

in #bitcoin8 years ago

Very interesting idea. A potential downside that strikes me is that an IoT blockchain could be even more vulnerable to a Sybil attack than a blockchain of more monolithic and varied devices. Especially at the first stages when the blockchain is initialised. What do you think?

Sort:  

By monolithic do you mean centralized?

The decentralized nature of the blockchain makes it less susceptible to attacks, not more susceptible. Any node that could be attacked would simply be routed around to another node.

What about the Sybil type attack though? I wasn't super clear I think, I didn't mean centralized, I meant more standard, complex systems, which are by and large more secure. IoT devices are notoriously less secure, so can be "owned" more easily by an attacker, and cheaper to deploy many of them if your aim was to control more nodes to do such an attack. I'm not super up on the terminology, but I guess that is also known as a 51% attack right?

Decentralized systems have different vulnerabilities, less for sure, but still some viable attacks exist. Ethereum was recently successfully attacked for example.

Sounds like you know a lot more about it than I do. I'll have to do some more research.

And me. Looking forward to your next article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64