You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Bitcoin Debit Card Experiment

in #bitcoin8 years ago

I was considering getting bitcoin debit card, but most of them had some sort of monthly maintenance fee and that put me off, as I only intended it to be an alternative, emergency fund, in case my bank account was frozen etc.
What I did eventually, was to open a free bank account with (officially bitcoin friendly) Fidor bank, applied for a free debit mastercard (no fees on transactions) and linked the card with Circle app (to sell or buy BTC).
It's not perfect, as it takes few days for the money to be credited to the card (when selling BTC), but it's absolutely free.

Sort:  

Hi @pepe7777. Interested to hear about you're experience with circle. What kind of rate does it give when you convert from fiat to bitcoin?

Hi. From my experience the rate is always slightly better than the Coindesk rate or the one Google uses. And they don't deduct any tx fees, so it's pretty good.
That being said, I've seen people (on reddit) complaining about Circle requiring selfie while holding id document, I don't know whether it's true, I was never asked for such. But I'm in UK, so maybe verification requirements are different between the countries or even between states.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44