You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A message to the crypto community | Bitcoin Private, BTC, ZCL

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

You are wrong to demonize those motivated by profit motive in the way that you have. The 'buzz' around cryptocurrencies, the thrill of potential riches, and the excitement that profit creates are perfectly natural forces bringing new hands into bitcoin on a daily basis. I can elaborate on the details of how it works and why it's a good thing if you do not understand. I think you will understand so I will continue instead.

You mention the 'essence of the mission' of those of us who wholeheartedly believe in bitcoin.. The BTC/ETH/alt markets are comprised of willing buyers and sellers. Revisit the fundamentals of free market operation, and you may not be so quick to demonize those driven by profit motive. After-all, you yourself are driven by it, and nobody (with a brain) is questioning your honor for it.

The market will ultimately decide whether or not bitcoin private is valuable. Not you. You may think price does not match it's value at some point - but if your valuation is correct - the market will prove you correct, of course.

For the projects that you have faith in... Have some damn faith, then! Is your faith based in accurate information? I assume that at least you think so. If your ideas are valid, and you are correct, you will be rewarded for having those ideas before others. Congratulations. (Notice how in this way you are not at all far removed from the 'lambo' buyers that you foolishly demonized moments ago).

It is my opinion that you're right, and bitcoin private will have at least a few legitimate use cases or solve some problems for some people. I think it will be traded for some time. Other, more useless shitforks are still traded, after all. At the very least - if bitcoin private is just a little bit better than useless, it will be around for a while.

Ultimately, I think your intentions are good but you betray ignorance by shitting on those participating in a free market. Additionally, your appeals for bitocin private are far too emotional. I don't think you are trying to deceive, to be sure, but I think more logical and factual appeals will win more people over to your favorite coin. If bitcoin private is what you say it is, I think you are doing it something of a disservice. Your post is whiny, and your your attempts to appeal to emotion outnumber and outweigh those which are logical and factual. Your quickness to question the honor of and demonize traders doesn't lend to your message in the slightest.

Sort:  

Perhaps I expressed myself poorly; you misunderstood me. I do not oppose being motivated by profits, but I oppose doing harm to a good project. In the specific case of Bitcoin Private, a lot of people are giving Rhett (the lead developer) lots of shit for being honest and casual instead of being silver-tongued for the short-term pump. If you are willing to sacrifice the long-term success of something as important as Bitcoin Private for a small short-term gain, I would say that you do more harm than good to our cause. First do no harm.
     Furthermore, a good product does not necessarily flourish in the free market. Free markets are affected by a number of factors, of which many outweigh the actual utility of the product—especially in a poorly informed market. Free markets are certainly not magical recipes for optimal outcome.

I do not worry about the success of Bitcoin Private, but rather the success of this movement as a whole. The Bitcoin Private situation was merely an example to demonstrate the situation we are in before the first battle has even broken out. This is not a war that will be over any time soon; we must not lose sight of our mission as we go forward (and simultaneously reap the profits of our investments).

I see, I have misunderstood you. I agree with you completely. I apologize

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30