Buying Bitcoin is Getting Hard

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

BUYING BITCOIN IS GETTING HARD

Shout out to Crypto-Tuber @btckyle who just joined steemit!

Today I went to buy Bitcoin in downtown Vancouver BC so I could take part in the bloodbath in the markets. When I scanned my address into the BTM what I saw made my jaw drop. The price quoted was $3700 CAD! While the price on the exchange was 3100 CAD.
"This can't be right!" I exclaimed
So I walked over to the manager to see if I could buy Bitcoin from him instead.
He said " I don't even want to sell you the ones in the machine, I paid 4200 for them".
Over the last couple of months it's been getting harder and harder to buy BTC in Vancouver. So I decided to join QuadregaCX. Before now I avoided buying BTC on the exchanges because the verification process seemed like such a pain in the keister .

                Scan this scan that and wait(and wait)

Six hundred CAD above market price got me to thinking that some hassle might be worth it. So in I dove to the dreaded verification process. While reading the FAQ there was a notice

"Due to high volume verification is taking longer than usual" "Here we go, just what I expected"

I chuckled then read on

"We recommend Equifax verification it fast and easy"

Yeah right fast, easy and verification those words don't mix! This must be something for People with credit cards . well might as well try.

                Onward I clicked with gritted teeth

First punch in my personal information, second answer a half page of multiple choice questions about my credit information ,easy questions! I braced myself for whatever insane bureaucratic filter they were going to push me through now that they had softened me up. Slowly I reached for the Next button knowing that the righteous hammer of denial was about to fall.

                  You Are Verified!!! 

Nothing could have prepared me for this. Five minutes and I'm Verified?!

This was not my first time dealing with QuadregaCX . Three or four years earlier a friend and I became interested in Bitcoin ATMs or BTM s. So we called up QuadregaCX to ask about floats and API 's and other BTM logistics.
They sent out one of of their traders who quickly crushed our hopes of profiting from BTM s. While we were there we did a quick trade.
Over the next few years we traded more and more and he became my go to guy. He Was courteous and professional and he came to my house!
When he wasn't available I went to Bitcoiniacs. Everything was going great until two weeks ago I called him up and asked him to come over and sell me some Bitcoin.

" For CAD?" He replied

"Yes"

"I don't want any. Everybody wants to buy"
"I have too much CAD"

After a little cajoling and a lot of pleading he reluctantly agreed.
After that I thought I could go to Bitcoiniacs and you know how that went. Let me be clear I've always had great service from Bitcoiniacs this is just a liquidity problem. Before the bloodbath people wanted to hold onto their Bitcoins because they were going up so much. After the bloodbath no one wanted to part with their coins they had paid so much for.
From now on whenever my noob-crypto's from Vancouver come to me asking how do they buy Bitcoin and get into altcoins. I'll sit them down, tell them to open their device and...

JOIN QUADREGA

QCX 728x90 Black CDN Instant Funding.jpg

Sort:  

Great post! In the Philippines, you can buy bitcoin on convenient stores and ATM everywhere. You can read it here.

@openparadigm, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62834.21
ETH 2464.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64