How I got my BCC (Bitcoin cash) from an electrum wallet: My story

in #bitcoin7 years ago

In a nutshell

  • Moved BTC out of Electrum wallet into new wallet (used Coinomi)
  • Waited for multiple confirmations of transaction
  • Installed Electron cash wallet 2.9.2 on separate device (settings on start-up: auto-connect, standard wallet, restore from seed)
  • Inserted Electrum seed phrase from Electrum wallet (now showing nil BTC) into Electron Cash
  • BCC appears in electron wallet
  • Moved BCC to a new wallet (used Coinomi)

I used Coinomi and Electrum Android version and a windows version of Electroncash (not compiled from source code).


index.jpeg

Situation

Electrum do not credit your BCC, but do give you full ownership of your private keys which allows you to keep full control of your bitcoin (BTC) and decisions like if you wan to own BCC aswell. I would like both and the option to decide - more control to users can only be a good thing for decentralised money: which I believe can be a force for equality and equity in this strange world.

Rationale

Being tenacious with my crypto-currency, before the fork I moved my BTC from a Coinomi wallet to an Electrum wallet because I felt Coinomi didn't let you fully access your own private keys to the degree Electrum does and were giving mixed messages about if they would redeem BCC. I wanted more control and security from a trusted source.

I was happy to transfer post-fork back to Coinomi as I like the interface and built in exchange. I had several approaches I would like to have taken to claim BCC based on Electrum's reccomendations but were unsure if they would work (any comments here form experience and knowledge would help people in this situation I'm sure).

I could have swept my keys from Electrum to Coinomi and hoped both coins appeared - I have heard this works but have not heard enough confirmations.

I could have used an Electron cash alternative (due to its perception as unsecure) - but for this I was unsure if I could use the same seeds in any BCC wallet or if I would need to use my private key, and I don't have the tech know how to know what ramifications this may have.

Conclusion

This way worked for me, incurred some transaction fees, and has an exposure of risk using Electron Cash*. I would like to see any comments on easier or more secure ways to claim BCC from Electrum and experience doing so. Or similar stories.

*this is an unfair generalisation and the politics are somewhat obscuring the conversation on if and how Electron Cash may be unsafe.

I'm glad to see Steemit's value in answering questions like this as opposed to the more traditional forum style.

Sort:  

Thanks for the info as I'm holding my BTC in Electrum for now. This is an option I'll consider.

Congratulations @onecircular! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @onecircular! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57