THEORETICAL Bitcoin Private Key Cracker

in #bitcoin6 years ago

(Before reading this article, please remember this is only a theoretical idea made by an internet stranger that doesn't even use Bitcoin since the fees are so high and it's too hard to mine, don't take this as gospel truth. I do however, use a nice tidy fork of Bitcoin called Bitcoin Cash since I can actually handle the tiny fees)

Sah my dudes, so I’ve recently been thinking (believe it or not I do that) and I have come up with a theoretical Bitcoin Private Key Cracker. Remember, this is just a theory (a game theory) so please, if you find any issues in this, feel free to poke holes in it. I normally don’t ask this, but if you could please share this post if you can’t find any issues with this private key cracker that wouldn’t allow this to work, since I’m not sure if this issue can really be fixed.

Now enough talk, let’s get into the fun stuff. Now I haven’t built this yet for obvious reasons, and I only post about this since I feel concerned about this. While I was using Blockchain.Info, a site that allows you to view the balances and transactions of any user on the Bitcoin Blockchain, as well as being a stand alone web wallet, I realized that any automated program could search for a Bitcoin address. At first this merely surprised me, but I didn’t feel worried. Then I got to thinking. What if someone created an automated program to convert randomly generated private keys into Bitcoin addresses to find one with Bitcoin in it. The search for private keys could be easily distributed, even with a simple program utilizing JavaScript and NodeJS (2 of my favorite languages <3). After doing some research, I didn’t seem to find anyone else with the idea.

What I conclude from this. While Blockchain.info could merely use Google’s Recaptcha or Cloudflare or any other anti automation program, a program could be built in C++ with the full Blockchain actually downloaded. Now I know that there are a massive amount of possible Bitcoin private keys. However, with more media attention every day, more wallets being created, and dozens of forks resulting in new cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin Cash and Bitcoin Gold with similar ways of generating private/public key pairs, I believe that this coul actually become a serious threat to the Bitcoin Community. Again if you find issues with this theoretical program, please feel free to poke holes with it, I’d love discussion. Until next time =).

Sort:  

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ninja25538 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.09
ETH 3827.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63