It's Not Just Bitcoin, Bitcoin Keychains Are So Obviously A Bubble

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

btckecba.jpg

A few days ago I saw a tweet from a Bitcoin keychain retailer who said they had been seeing unprecedented growth of Bitcoin Keychains recently, compared to their start in 2013. After a couple quick DMs the verdict was in. While it may not be as inflated as the Tulip Bubble (eyeroll), Bitcoin keychains are obviously a bubble.

I spoke with Rob from Bkeychain.com to see just how fast these "side chains" have been flying off the shelf.

Rob, thanks for taking the time to answer a few quick questions for Hodlnews.io, How long you have been selling Bitcoin keychains?

I sold my first Bitcoin Keychains at a Los Angeles Bitcoin Meetup in July of 2013. Pinguino was there, and took a photo of the keychains. A month later, when I was looking at Bitcoin news, I couldn’t believe it when I saw my keychains pictured on a Business Insider article.

That's awesome! So you've been doing it for a while now. Do you sell, or have plans to sell any key chains besides bitcoin?

We currently sell Bitcoin and Litecoin key chains, and from time to time sell Bitcoin Fork Pens, just something for fun.
(www.bitcoinforks.com). I decided to make those when Bitcoin XT was being contentiously discussed. The physical pun just made me laugh.

That's hilarious. I actually bought the Bitcoin Keychain you sell on Amazon over the summer. How have you seen your sales increase since 2013? And more specifically in 2017?

Our Amazon sales (which may give a good peek into mainstream interest) can help illustrate the recent sales spike:
We sold 12X more keychains this week than we did last year at this time.
We sold 7.4X more keychains this past month than we did last year at this time
The most amazing stat to me: Almost 20% of the keychains we’ve sold on Amazon in the past two years were sold this past week alone! We have also recently had our biggest wholesale order ever!

Incredible! It's so interesting to see demand in other physical products skyrocket as the price of the coin goes up. Are you a crypto holder yourself?

Of course! I got excited about Bitcoin first, and went to my first Bitcoin meetup a few months later. It was exciting to finally meet a bunch of Bitcoiners in person. I wanted to make something to share with the group at our next meetup. I was thinking about stickers or poker chips, but as someone who drooled over Casascius coins, I decided a substantial metal Bitcoin keychain would be really cool. And that’s what got me started with Bitcoin keychains as a side-business. But to be clear, selling keychains is not the way to get rich in Bitcoin! Had I put my initial Bitcoin Keychain investment into actual Bitcoin, I’d have come so much better financially. And that’s just hodling BTC vs. tons of work on this business over the past 4.5 years. But seeing the keychains on websites I read, and in the hands of Bitcoiners I look up to, has been extremely rewarding. And, of course, I also hodl BTC.

Lol love your story. Thanks so much for taking the time to talk to us Rob!

Please go pick up a keychain at Bkeychain.com or on Amazon.

Sort:  

:)) great interview and information. thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45