You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ad Networks Could be Using Your Computer to Mine Cryptocurrencies Right Now

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I have heard about people installing malicous scripts/viruses in ads that they then pay an ad network to (while unaware of the script or virus in the file) publish it on people's wbsites. If they can do it with viruses then they could probably do it with a coin miner script, so I guess there's always a small chance that the ad network didn't (knowingly) back stab you.

Sort:  

It could be like you described. It could even be someone from the network that did it without the organization's consent. I tried to audit the code, but it's a neverending cascade of scripts linked to scripts that are linked to scripts...
I guess I'll never really know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43