Sort:  

That is kind of my thought as well. Unless there are some serious tech upgrades...

Bitcoin will always have the most marketable name, and for that reason alone, I think it has a good chance to be the "king" crypto or, at the very least, remain in the top 3 to 5 cryptos, for as long as you and I remain above ground.

Second best name for a spendable digital cash is a split for me between SmartCash and Dash. But other than those three, I don't see a name out there that's catchy or self-explanatory (does the name alone tell you what the currency is/ does?) enough to gain mass adoption -- it certainly ain't NEM, hahaha, what the hell is that? No one is going to say at a cash register, "can I pay in new economy movement tokens?"

I think people tend to underestimate the importance of a good brand name/ image in order to gain mass appeal.

I feel goooooooooooooooooood!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cryptos cant be fully regulated especially the completely decentralized ones like monero, zcoin, zcash, zero etc... Pandora's box has been opened and it wont be closed.

I agree. Bitcoin needs LN, Schnorr sigs, etc to come online or other tech is going to come forward and surpass it. Steem, Bitshares and EOS have all solved the scaling issues so we may see those go up later on this year.

I read James Altucher's book Choose Yourself about a year ago and it's clear to me that he's no expert in cryptocurrencies. He did however manage some very large hedge funds around the time of the dot.com boom/bust.

I agree 1 million sounds a little far fetched but it is not stagnant there is a lot of active development going on with bitcoin and they haven't even implemented any layer 2 solutions yet. Also I think it will be hard for a complete noob coming into the crypto market to buy an altcoin as there first investment. Bitcoin will be king for a while if not forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99