Wirex Bitcoin Debit Cards - It is time to spend some crypto

in #bitcoin7 years ago




Today I was feeling inspired by @hilarski's post, "Access Your Bitcoin Using the Wirex Bitcoin Debit Card", so I signed up for the Wirex service.

Sign up could not have been simpler; however, I was a bit confused when I arrived at the web app homepage. It appears the service is still not available via the web app (see screenshot below), but this was just a minor setback.



I downloaded the mobile app and within 5 minutes I had loaded my account with bitcoin, received and funded a virtual debit card, and ordered a physical debit card that should arrive in the mail at my post office box here in Panama. So basically with zero hassle I am now ready to spend cryptocurrency online and in physical stores that accept MasterCard - that is absolutely amazing!

Services like Wirex are going to help push cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin and Steem into the mainstream.

Thanks to @hilarski for promoting this service on Steemit and spreading the word.

Now let's spend some bitcoin!

First thing I'm going to buy when the card arrives is some Sancocho...

What will you buy?




Sort:  

I love the card and customer service has been great. If you ship it to Panama you have to pick it up at DHL in Costa del Este.

Thanks for the heads up. Did they notify you upon delivery via email or phone so you could pick it up? I put my apartado as the shipping address. Guess that won't work?

It was here in less than a week. We actually just tracked it on the DHL website. Only DHL works here.

OK cool. I'll try contacting them on Friday to get a tracking number. Off to Playa Blanca tomorrow for the night. Thanks man.

ive been looking for a btc debit card.. nice!

Are you US based?

I was going to try to have it mailed to the US and then couriered to Panama because it is more reliable than the mail here. However, there was no US country option in the app. Probably too many regulations for them to deal with.

+1
Thanks for the share!

Thanks. This is a topic I have been actively wondering about -- and if it can be used at Chinese ATMS.

If you have any questions feel free to get in touch, although @hilarski is probably better suited to answer questions at this point in time. I'll likely post some updates once I receive the card and begin using it.

If this thing truly works in China, than Steemit and steem dollars will be funding my travel blogging through China. And that would be awesome. Right now, it's been costing me a lot of money ... and I live here for crying out loud. It would be nice to not have to blow my modest teaching salary every month on hotel rooms.

Hmm. How do I get the app on my phone? Google Play is blocked in China, and my App market app doesn't have wirex.

It should work with any Matercard accepting POS or ATM. I had problems in Germany and The Netherlands with many not doing small transactions or any credit cards.

I had no problems in Bulgaria, serbia and hungary

I am interested in this, do you think it would work in Honduras?

I'll get back to you once I receive the card. I have been informed that it works very well in Panama, thus I see no reason that it should not work at any place that accepts Mastercard payments worldwide.

I've had my card for a few weeks. Works great!

The only thing I would warn about is the transition the company is going through right now from e-coin to wirex. It seems they don't have everything set up on the wirex site 100% so it's necessary to use e-coin site for some things.

https://www.e-coin.io/?ref=d157c1cf7b44441abc6cabe64134773f

It's not really an issue but if you're not aware of that it can lead to some frustration.

Thanks for the tip. I'm sure I'll encounter some sort of issue, but I only plan on using it for small purchases to start.

I have been using it since they rebranded from e-coin. It hasn't been hassle free but nobody really offers better still. There is services that transfer direct to your bank but how fast that is varies widely.

Hi it's an interesting post & i was looking for a card that uses BTC but i have a problem i can't sign up why ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55