New to the Crypto world

in #bitcoin7 years ago


This future, that is rapidly being created before our eyes, is amazing to witness. But very confusing and scary to the average person. I can tell you first hand, that is why this amazing new form of currency is not mainstream yet. I mean it all sounds to good to be true. Money that can be instantly sent across the globe for little or no cost at all, its impossible right ? At least it was until now and for everyday run of the mill people it isn't easy to trust new. What would you say if some one told you to deposit your hard earned money into something that had no legitimate backing? I for one work hard for my cash and its hard not to physically hold on to something you have slaved for. That's what the average person thinks when they here Bitcoin, digital, and crypto currencies. I mean read the warning you get before transacting between accounts "Depositing tokens to this address other than STEEM may result in your funds being lost." ( that quote is from the bittrex trading site). I see ,funds lost, and my first reaction is to stay away. And yes I know that it is fool proof all you have to do is copy and past the address. But who doesn't make mistakes. In this case a mistake could potentially cost you thousands and upward. The point of this post is to get a conversation going so that anyone new can see and use as a tool. What was your first reaction to crypto currency? were you at all scared or had doubts? If so what were your doubts? Did you do research or just jumped in head first? Where did you get good legitimate information? what made you confident to invest and/or participate? Are you happy with the decision you made?

I for one was scared and doubted the idea itself. I was worried that my money could disappear. I put in a lot of research hours and from my experience you tube was my best source. I also used google as a reference to verify the content of the videos. After days and weeks of research and over thinking I finally decided to take a leap of faith and get into crypto currency. And I can honestly say that it has been a stressful experience but I made some mistakes that I learned from. I am happy now that things are looking up.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mvelez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45