Bitcoin: Why don't people understand it?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Bitcoin coin fading copy.jpeg
Last year about 10 of my co-workers and I cashed out our 401k's for more “aggressive” trading techniques that TDAmeritrade was going to help us out with. The individuals already knew that I wanted to go a seperate way and go into crypto and I told them I was gonna buy Bitcoin instead and more or less keep all my eggs in one basket. They didn't laugh, but they would always ask in a teasing manner what Bitcoin was worth, and they couldn't believe the margin growth.
One day I had a serious talk with my Manager when Bitcoin had made its run from $800 top $1200 in less than a month I believe. I said put your money in and you won’t regret it, after he was asking me about to and how it works. He said that felt like he had missed the boat and should have invested with me when it was at $500. I said that’s the problem with 99% of the people that want to invest in something like this is tat they don’t. They don’t take the first step, the “leap of faith” so to speak no matter how much proof they have seen. I told him that Bitcoin is just getting started. He said that he would consult with his wife(Big No-No) and will for sure at least buy 1 coin the next day. We left the conversation at that. and 6 months later I left that job which was the begining of 2017.
When Bitcoin went Bullish and parabolic for 4-5 days on this last run I took a screenshot of Coindesk which showed Bitcoin at $3,004 and emailed it to the individuals that all had cashed out their 401k's for the more aggressive trading company and who also thought I was nuts. I'm sure jaws dropped, who's wouldn’t, Bitcoin Quintupled. 2 individuals out of the 10 replied. One simply said “you were right and I am happy for you.” The other said I knew I should have gone along with you, our accounts have grown like 10% I think. Damn good job buddy. And then he proceeded to ask me how he could get into Bitcoin... He has not contacted me since. SMH… My manager never replied knowing he had made a mistake and avoids the topic every time we talk. I would never let pride get in the way of helping me secure my financial feature.
I reminicesed about that time in my life and how I basically wore Bitcoin on my sleeve and everyone at that high tech SaaS based company couldn’t wrap their simple minds around the opportunity that would have taken them “to the moon”.

-Rett S. aka Mr.R0b0t

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91