KuCoin could possibly be shutdown by China!! :'(

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Many thanks to the Cryptobud community for first alerting me to this. KuCoin promoted that they are based out of Hong Kong. However, it has been recently uncovered that they along with their parent company operate out of mainland China in the Sichuan province near Chengdu, China (a wonderful place I might add).

There's also this story off Medium:
https://medium.com/@jacksonwong2244/warning-kucoin-is-operating-in-sichuan-of-china-e08ca697030e

Even if this is not true, I'd rather be safe than sorry. I've already converted all my KuCoinShares (KCS) tokens to Dash and transferred them to my private wallet. My Ethereum tokens can take anywhere from 1 to 6 hours, it's been over an hour already and KuCoin has yet to put it on the Blockchain. Any ERC-20 token including Ethreum will take quite a while to get transferred so just keep that in mind if you have ERC-20 tokens on KuCoin.

I'm not advising you to do this, just advising you to use your best judgement as I am doing myself. I really love the KuCoin exchange, but for now I'll have to wait until the uncertainty calms down a bit.

//Support Me?
BTC - 1L19KwFizQa8d5XvbqXrDdsRADvmDePtzr
ETH - 0x3275cf9B6412e031AEC4502521a6C8E515B1a0fa
LTC - LN8WC6kXspe6z7vo9q4kS3BewKkAPf9Nzd
DASH - XotdWpZais9jB9uns2dMLKUyBvSd5aBmed
DOGE - D5K3nXUfP7JjJruQA1KWg7pnXQ1sRu7g5t

Sort:  

I think it will happen @moxi

Yes, I'm also afraid it may.

Apparently, this is fake news. On reddit, people have done some research which seems to proof that KuCoin is actually registered in Hong Kong.

Personally, I remain cautious, but positive about KuCoin's future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65