Used Digital Currency for the First Time to Renew a Domain

in #bitcoin8 years ago

So a while back I started exploring digital currency. No, I wasn't an early adopter. In fact I stayed away from it for years. I didn't want to loose out if it failed. Being scared of failure will lead to miss opportunities. Let's say that I was tired of missing opportunities, so here is the story...

I received an email from NameSilo - my domain register - that informed me one of my domains was coming up for renewal in six days. SIX DAYS!

My brain starts to scramble of how to pay for this cost. I have a hobby that I use to pay for my domains. However, I spent the money from the hobby account to buy more supplies to work on an order. So the account was empty; as hobbies make your accounts. 

I went through the shopping cart checkout and noticed BitCoin. Wait what!? BitCoin is listed as a payment method? Oh this is cool, sad it isn't DASH, but I can deal with BitCoin as well. So I added account funds with BitCoin. A few hours later the funds were created to my account. I added the domain to my cart and checked out with account funds.

Over all I would say my experience with digital currency was good. The largest draw back of the BitCoin transaction was the amount of time it took to complete. In a time crunch it would have been worthless. 

I think that I will send a letter to my domain register - NameSilo - and suggest working toward accepting DASH with Instant Send.

Sort:  

I use Bitcoin on OpenBazaar and eGifter, I used to use Gyft. Digital currency really needs more use as a spending function. Steem too https://steemit.com/steem/@cryplectibles/1-way-that-anyone-can-make-steem

Thanks for sharing your experience here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60315.45
ETH 2606.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53