The moment I believed in his vision. Marriage and Bitcoin

in #bitcoin7 years ago

people-2561053_1920.jpg

Piled up laundry, household maintenance put on the back burner, a husband spending thousands of dollars on computer equipment, countless hours staring at a computer screen, endless scrolling of twitter and online research. These were the things that I saw if you had ever asked me what Bitcoin meant to me. Sometimes he would try and explain and my eyes would glaze over as my mind drifted off to some far away land. You would think as a woman who has a Master’s Degree in Business, successfully runs her own business, and is raising 2 small children, that I would have had a little more faith in the man that I married. Did I believe him? Yes. Did I trust him? Yes. The question is, did I believe in IT? I referred to cryptocurrencies as his “Imaginary Monopoly money” at first. I suppose it was my way of invalidating his work and not giving in to the idea that we could possibly be free someday of all of our monthly debt, nagging credit cards, and relentless student loan payments. He had a vision and I just couldn’t see it. I thought I supported his vision, but if you asked him he may say otherwise. I may even be slightly to blame for his abandonment of mining, but that is a topic for a whole other day.

My husband’s journey into the unknown began 4 years ago in an uncharted area of blockchain, cryptocurrencies, and mining. My journey only truly began 1 year ago. I had birthed my second child and was enjoying some time off work to recuperate and snuggle my new bundle. I had a little more time to read back then compared to now, where I chase after a 1 and 3 year old all day. I came across an article while laying in bed and I instantly forwarded it to my husband who was one floor beneath me. Texting my husband inside the house is just one of our lazy forms of communication. He didn’t respond! Why had he not responded? Didn’t he realize what an important moment this was??? There are FEMALE FARMERS in Zimbabwe that are starting to use Bitcoin to improve their way of life in agriculture in a society with a broken financial system! This was huge!! Moments later there was still no response. I rushed downstairs and found him working on his usual nightly research. I yelled “Did you see what I sent you? Well, did you read it??” Silence as he picked up his phone to look at the article, as though I had come across some astonishing news break. “So… you finally get IT” he said. I think for once I did.

https://www.newsdeeply.com/womenandgirls/articles/2016/12/21/backed-bitcoin-virtual-currency-help-zimbabwes-women-farmers

Sort:  

Congratulations @mommyandbitcoin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42