Real-Life Crypto Currency Expenditure

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I’m sure I’m not alone in this boat….so let me start my story :)

Since I heard about Crypto Currency - Bitcoin & all other Altcoins - for more than 3 years now; I’m buying, selling different Crypto Currencies, exchanging between them, holding tokens from few good ICOs, cashing out part of my funds whenever I need some cash & holding part for long-term investment (hopefully) ;)      


BitcoinGlorious.jpg

Since I discovered the Crypto Currency world, I didn’t spend any Crypto Currency in ‘real-life’ expenditure….except if we consider paying for some ‘cloud-mining’ services in Bitcoin is a real-life expenditure….By the way; though I know it’s not the core topic of my article here, but in case anyone would like to know; these ‘Cloud-mining’ services have been a total waste of money & time, at least for me; they did never break-even my initial investment (whether the life-time contracts or the annual ones)!

Anyway, back to our topic, a couple of months ago; I was thinking of adding some good certificate to the few ones I hold (Cisco CCIE since more than 12 years & OCSA ‘ONF Certified SDN Associate’ certificate recently) & because I always believe that the certification must prove & second what you’re really doing in your professional life; I chose to go for the CBP (Certified Bitcoin Professional) certificate through Crypto Currency Certification Consortium (https://cryptoconsortium.org/certifications/CBP)

CBP.png

I was really glad to know that the only payment option for the CBP exam is via Bitcoin; that was the first record in my ‘real-life’ Crypto expenditure. Since then I decided to look for other areas where I can spend some Crypto Currency there; but because I’m not living in Japan; that was really a challenging exercise for me.

 I live in a nice country but the Crypto Currency isn’t yet regulated or formalized here.

 I live in one of the crowded cities worldwide, I have my own car but honestly; I hate driving in the city, so I’m a loyal customer of Uber that I usually use between 10-15 times a week (twice a day on the average)….I usually pay for my Uber rides using my Credit Card…So a crazy idea jumped into my mind; what if I issue a virtual Crypto Debit card & use it to pay for my Uber rides?

uber.jpeg

Wait! Why you choose the virtual Debit Card option? (That’ll definitely be your question); well; the answer is simple; my country isn’t yet on the list of countries where the different Crypto Card companies can issue & ship physical real cards to :(

There are lots of Crypto Debit Card companies out there but only few of them worked well for me.

debit-card.jpg

I issued my virtual Debit Card in few seconds, loaded around $5 (its equivalent in BTC) to it, installed the Card App over my phone to monitor the balance & transactions, filled in the details of the card into the Uber App as the new payment method & ordered my trip……& here we go!! WOW

What other areas of expenditure do you recommend? Please share your stories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36