Bitpay.com My personal Review

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hello everyone, I would like to add a simple review about my experience with Bitpay.com and their Visa/Debt card.

bitpay.png

I have stated in several of my previous posts that I lack the necessary computer skills and knowledge. So when I signed up for the bitpay card I was a little hesitant. Mind you, I have seen the bitpay card work as a colleauge of mine introduced me to it.

So with his help I was ready to take the next step and becoming my own bank...so to speak. Unfortunately as is the case when I AM dealing with computers an error occured.

computergif.gif

I purchased the card (with bitcoin) but something happened during the sign up procedure.

The game of email(tag) began and 3 weeks later (while receiving emails that only showed confusion to my situation) my card arrived. Bitpay then wanted me to follow procedure by activating the card. Sure enough because my previous situation wasn't taken care of more errors occured and activation of my card was not possible.

No worries all I have to do is call the number on the back of the card during business hours and talk to a representative.
For my part I called on several days, during all of their business hours only to hear the following:

"Please stay on the line as we try to connect you with a representative....then glorious music....then after about 1 minute...all representatives are unavailable please leave a recorded message...bleep." I left several messages that never received a reply.

I went back to email(tag) and I will say that email coreesepodence with bitpay support happens on a daily basis. Their emails state that it takes about a day to respond to emails, but they DID respond to my emails in less than 24 hours.
It about 3 days to resolve my problem and finally get my card activated.
I then responded with an email:

"Thank you Corey....for your diligence and patience. I only have one last question.... I'm about to leave the US for an extentded period of time.... If something happens and i cannot make a purchase... the phone number on the card is continously sending me to voicemail. This gives me great concern. What's the deal ? Once again thank you for your help."

I immediately got an email response stating I should call the phone number on the bitpay card and trick it in the automated menu. (An automated menu doesn't exist when you call their phone number.) I did receive a reply and was informed that the call center manager will be notified and I was too "stay tuned".

Also as part of the security procedure both my I.D. and social security info are needed for activation. This did not happen in the activation of my card. Yet, my card is active.

If I had to rate their total support system out of 5*'s... I can only give them a 2.
I have not used the card yet but will see if I can actually make a purchase with it.

Overall I cannot give a reccommendation of the company. I was looking into other debit cards that use bitcoin and am more than likely to use a different card.

I just wanted to be as completely honest with my assesment. I've ommited emails that would confuse the reader. I also realize that the incident was my fault to begin with but am commenting on their entire "bitpay support" procedure.

I hope this post was informative (which is my intent). Any comments, suggestions are always welcome and don't forget to upvote. Excelsior!!!!! (P.S. I'm unsure if I used the proper tags for this post so any suggestions please tell me.)

Sort:  

I am not a fan of bitpay because my webdeveloper said their rates are a little bit high compared to third parties, but then they are a huge party too, so i gess more people do like them then they dislike them.

I'm still new to the cryptocurrency game... but after watching a friend use it... it kinda sold itself. I was really hoping that this card was all it's suppose to be. Im still doing research on more cards and will defintely keep an eye on fees.

I think swift is an alternative, I have a bitpay card and like it. have not dug into conversion costs and fees though

Did you mean Shift card @codydeeds? I looked into that card and the fees are .05cents -.50 cents higher in some fees...other fees or exactly the same as bitpay...

Oh, yea, well there you have it. Thanks for the info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39