You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin on CNBC 📺

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Might be centralized I agree but so far is working just fine. I’d like to use sbd instead but you know too that even though it is supposed to work at its peg it just doesn’t. Flows with the market. Besides tether is not for 1 year holdings. But more likely for short term trades.

Sort:  

Ya, the less long you hold it for, the less likely it is to go kaput on you. But I'm saying a year as in that might be when it seems like the crypto market has bottomed and you'd want to buy back in.

I can hold Tether for a few weeks and feel pretty comfortable, but also the crypto market won't have dipped as much in that period.

Ya, I'd like to hold SBD, but indeed, it doesn't seem guaranteed to hold its peg.

Tether works so well because it's literally just Bitfinex people promising that they have a dollar to backup every Tether that they create, as far as I know. That's why it holds at a dollar. But the risk is you're trusting them, that they really have all these dollars and won't run off with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47