You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin and crypto reputation damaged forever

in #bitcoin7 years ago

It was pretty brutal to watch. I was trading during the weekend and there were multiple flash crashes. Once in the morning and the others that Saturday night.

I saw price drops of over 200 the first time bittrex lagged out. The second time was a bit appalling, BCH was at a 40 billion market cap and trading over 2500 on several exchanges. Then another lag spike hit on Bittrex and it dropped over a 1000 dollars in value!

I went to investigate and 3 Korean exchanges had gone offline around the same time as the crash. I don't know if this was some serious market manipulation but it was definitely a circus. After the second flash crash the market cap dropped 20 billion in under an hour. My optimistic hope is technical difficulties brought on the problems. I would rather it be a case of too many people wanting to trade vs malicious actors.

I am a huge fan of block chain technology and what it has to offer but this was sad to watch. I agree, I think these types of events will only hurt the market. In the end it might be good if some regulations get implemented.

Sort:  

It´s not centralized regulations that will save bitcoin, only "blockchainers" can do it.
The blockchain cannot call the "police" to solve problems of the community.
We cannot regulate what was created to be regulated because it will destroy it too.
The community must find ways to punish these groups of stakeholders that are killing a great revolution for the Money Power God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50