You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The threat of quantum computers to Bitcoin

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I feel like the current state of quantum computing is fairly safe because these powerful computers are in the hands of somewhat benevolent companies that have no interest in stealing bitcoins. As quantum computers become ubiquitous and more people start having them, that's when the danger gets more real. I'm not terribly worried about it today, but 5 years out..yeah possibly.

Fortunately, I feel that algorithms are being developed today which will theoretically be quantum resistant. IOTA is one example of a team working toward that, granted it's still all theory.

-@mattboyd

Sort:  

I agree to a point. Quantum resistance will no doubt be worked on hard by a lot of people. I don't think that tech companies are necessarily going to be benevolent. Depends on their business model at the time I guess. Facebook for example could be directly threatened by things like steem. Google too. Just my humble opinion.

Actually, you made me rethink my point. I can see a path where companies will not be overly benevolent. Steem was definitely a good example. Cheers!

What about mining with quantum computers ? all blockchain algorith will slowly turn quantum

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82