We need a Better way to buy Bitcoin.

in #bitcoin8 years ago (edited)

Coinbase alone is not enough. Are there any Bitcoin atm companies reading this. Are your owners? Sponsor my blog. Send me a free BTC atm I will give you a tagline at the end of every post for a period we agree upon. Why? Because I want a free BTC atm? No. Because I want to put these A*holes out of business that own them now. In my area a BTC atm means paying AT LEAST 100$ over spot price simply because an ATM has not found its way to the hands of a decent human being yet. Literally this is not an exaggeration. They all are colluding without even getting together to make the cheapest Bitcoin atm in my entire state 80$ over spot price. That is just reflective of the fact most of btc atm owners dont even understand bitcoin they are just clueless shop owners sold on making a quick buck. Then when a guy who does understand Bitcoin buys a BTC atm he sees no reason to undercut the market beyond 20 - 40 $. I will set my bitcoin atm at 10 dollars over spot price. Who cares how fast I make the initial investment back when I made no initial investment right!? help me help the local bitcoin community . If you cant send me a btc atm an upvote goes a long way toward me affording one.

Sort:  

peer to peer... that's the best way... in a way you could look at it as, if you are having trouble buying bitcoin... you circle of friends aren't as progressive as you are.

With the recent news about the IRS and Coinbase, I really don't want to use it for withdrawing funds. Are there better, trusted alternatives that aren't easily harassed by or within reach of the US government? An ATM in my neighborhood would be nice.

Well since most atms run off of Coinbase u are probably screwed. They all have to have kyc/aml at the very least anyway. If the IRS is an issue we need to change the laws regarding the IRS not run and hide our BTC with our tails between our legs

Change the laws...

That's a good one! The government will never change their laws to keep them out of the pockets of their "citizens." So, I guess I'll just have to find another option, unless Coinbase can somehow get around any IRS inquiries, which is doubtful.

The government is owned by the people. Just because they have forgotten doesn't mean it does not still apply.

Coinbase is taking the IRS to court over it so we will have to wait and see on that one. Two giants doing battle there I am sure Coinbase is nearly as powerful as the IRS already with the connections in government they have.

I recently went to one of the local offices of my bank (on Canary Islands) and asked the employee if she could help me in exchanging some €€ to bitcoin. You should have seen her face! :-D I would be happy to have at least a 'local bitcoin community'....

Its worse than I thought lol

Localbitcoins is indeed the best.

what is the best video format for upload on beyondbitcoin? ausbitbank still has not changed his password so I logged back in and deleted the video got my account going but I cant get this video to play back when I upload one format throws error during upload.. mpg. mp4 gets uploaded but wont play

.mp4 is best. Later versions will support more video formats but I think that for the moment we are stuck there. I need to look into what github.com/mafintosh and github.com/feross are using. The basic tech on that site is called webtorrent. If there is a video being viewed by 500 people, the server doesn't need much bandwidth at all. Instead, the users serve the video to one another.

is there a size limit i got can not append when i hit play?

I think the size limit is on your hard drive if I had to guess.

I founded satoshipoint, a UK bitcoin ATM company. there are more costs involved running one than you probably realise. AML KYC regulations are also a headache.

maybe you could enlighten me

10% over spot is about $70-80 ....

I meant to say 10$ over spot price ahaha thank you. Compared to a normal 2.50 atm fee even that seems extreme but I bet people would pay it

I like the way you are thinking.

My current aim is to promote adoption by local businesses.

Good idea but remember, if the business only sees a sparse community using the bitcoin they might not realize what they have.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.99 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35