Transferred BCH to XBT address on Kraken - Can I get my BCH back?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

I couple of weeks ago, shortly after the XBT/BCH fork, I tried to claim by BCH from the exodus wallet that my XBT is held in.

However, I mistakenly transferred that BCH to an XBT address associated with my Kraken account.

Kraken did advise that any transfer of BCH to an XBT address would not be honored in a blog post to advise their users prior to the fork. They also stated that they would not allow BCH address generation and deposits on their platform until they thought it would be safe to do so.

I acknowledge my fault in not reading through the entire blog post.

I wrote them a support ticket inquiring about whether I can get my lost BCH tokens back, but they told me no. Here is their email reply to my request:

Hello Wayne,

Thank you very much for your email. We are very sorry to hear that you sent these assets (BCH) to the wrong address (XBT).

At Kraken, we do what we can to prevent these mistakes from happening. That's why we make sure that our deposit page contains a warning and acknowledgement that Kraken is not responsible for these mistakes.

Unfortunately, we won't be able to help you recover the tokens. Instead of assisting clients with a recovery, which is a burdensome process for our developers, we have decided to focus on improving our products and making such mistakes less likely.

Many crypto users think of sending crypto tokens to an exchange along the lines of sending fiat to a bank. Somehow, the bank is going to track the funds and allocate the funds to the right account, even if mistakes are made. Unfortunately sending crypto to an address is very different from sending cash to a bank account. Mistakes require developers to step in and are very resource-intensive. That's why we cannot help you in this situation.

Thanks for understanding!

Regards,

S----------
Kraken Client Engagement

I have replied asking them if there is any possible way to recover the lost tokens. So far, they have not replied for 10 days.

Is there anyway to remedy this situation and recover the lost BCH?

Many thanks,

@masterwu

Sort:  

Congratulations @masterwu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sorry for your situation. Hope you find your asset soon https://9blz.com/kraken-review/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84