You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitfinex Catches Manipulators in Bitcoin (BTC) / Bitcoin Cash (BCH) Fork

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Wasn't Bitfinex one of the ones who only distributed a percentage of the BCH that they should have owed their users?
Seems like they are either keeping some of it for themselves or they don't actually own enough BTC to cover all of their users wallets.

Sort:  

You are right about that! In fact, I just posted another article about the difference. I got 100% match on Kraken, but spreading risk between more than one exchange can be worth it. I've been in tech business for many years and things definitely can go wrong.

True, although if you really want to reduce your risk you should be keeping your BTC in a hardware wallet or at least a paper wallet. If you're not day trading there's no point in having it on an exchange.

Although during this fork the folks who kept their BTC on exchanges like Bittrex got first mover advantage to dump their BCH so it definitely worked in their favor.

All good points. I agree about wallet vs. exchange. Did you get some BCH and decide to dump it? I'm curious about various perspectives on to keep it or not.

I dumped mine as soon as possible. Unfortunately, by the time I was able to get it onto an exchange it had already crashed pretty hard.

By the looks of the BCH charts, I would say a lot of other people did the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65