The bitcoin tree: The best time to plant one was 8 years ago

in #bitcoin6 years ago

If I had a bitcoin for everytime someone told me they wish they had held their coins they bought years ago… well I would be able to afford more than a fraction of a coin ;)

1511860309727.png

Congratulations!! If you didn’t have regret you wouldn’t be conscious of the movement.

Cryptocurrency will make history as bitcoin rises to $10,000 a coin. I'm sure anyone who has been watching this climb has had a moment of regret for not taking $10 and buying a digital handful of coins back in 2010 when bitcoin had jumped from $0 to an impressive $0.39. Todays post is for laughing at all the silly moments were people missed their chance to have multiple coins for a very small investment.

One gentleman told me about his introduction to bitcoin in 2012 when one coin was worth approximately 13$. Thinking he was on the cutting edge of alternative currency he bought $2,000 worth of coins. These coins were used to buy less than legal goods from the black market web which were sold for about $4,000. This is a phenomenal 100% gain, well it was phenomenal at the time. If he had kept these coins he would now have $1.5 million worth of bitcoin!

1511860642687.png

My relationship with cryptocurrency started 6 months ago when bitcoin was at just over $900. Unfortunately, my limited understanding of the technology hindered this process. College finals commandeered my brain space and I eventually abandoned the project. After forgetting about it and traveling for 5 months I come back to a group of friends who have become all about the crypto. I’m proud to say that I've finally made my first real steps into cryto… but the price has risen 10 fold!

1511860827472.png

I do find it interesting that as I left for Europe bitcoin was just about to reach $1,000 and now I stand in the airport agian watching it reach $10,000.

1511861201326.png

Also a big warm Thankyou to the Steemit community!

I've been involved with Steemit for about a week now and I’ve learned so much. So many of the science articles are incredibly interesting and insightful. I read one article by @aximot today about particle accelerators in old TVs which became a topic of insightful discussion later in the day. Many of the traveler I've read I have been inspired by and related with such as @lexiealford. This girl has a very unique quest of being the youngest girl to travel to every country. And a big thankyou to @knircky who's presentation two weeks ago got me interested in the Network.

Subdaily inspiring resteem!

To help spread interesting content I will be starting to resteem one inspiring science or traveler post subdaily. I say subdaily because I'll be drifting around in south America and I don't know about wifi consistency.

What's your story about crypto related regret? I'm sure you have some or you wouldn't have made it to steem!

Sort:  

hahahah i had 2 bitcoins back in 2012. Now i have 0.1 .. cant believe i sold them cries in corner

@talia69 At least you can know your not alone ;)

Congratulations @mangosinspace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94