Crypto-Safety, hold your keyssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Crypto-Safety is the most important thing. Hold your keys and protect your Bitcoin, get a cold storage wallet. So many people come into the space and leave it on an exchange. I have had two friends get hacked, they lost 10 and 20 grand because they wouldn't listen to me. They just wanted to trade back and forth, well it did't work out. Don't trust anyone with your Bitcoin. I have another friend that lost 6 bitcoin by putting into a Tradebot in 2014. I tracked it down to a btc-e wallet now wix. He would have had around $102k, but instead it traded or was stolen. The remainder I found was $34.51 and that’s all that was left in the wallet. This has been a real revelation to me. I have been into Bitcoin since 2015, but hesitated and bought into it a year later. I was really worried about the safety. I know holding any crytpo is at my own risk. The hardest thing has been trying to get peoples mind set changed. They are still stuck in the big bank train of thought, "trust the bank" NOT. Everything has to go in the bank, I know i fall victim to the false sense of security. People ask, "What happens if there is a big disaster and all hell breaks loose, what will happen to your precious Bitcoin ?". I say, you know if something bad did happen the damn banks would shut down, no one would be able to get any cash out. Food and water will be hard to get during that time. I would think the last thing I would worry about is my Bitcoin. I made it through Hurricane Katrina, no lights, stores were closed, banks were closed, cellular lines were down. And you know what ? the internet was out for almost 3 months. There wouldn't have been a damn thing I could have done to check Bitcoin. Looking back if I were in that situation again, as long as I have my Bitcoin in a cold storage wallet, all is safe. If that fails I have the seed and in time when everything is back in order then I would check on it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @luvarado! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32