You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Doc Brown's Multiple Bitcoins Theory

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Fun post, but as amazing as BitShares is, very few people are using it compared to all the other centralized exchanges. "Centralizing" bitcoin to the bitshares platform would never happen, but it's a nice story. Wishful thinking can be fun. :)

Sort:  

They aren't using it because it's bloody confusing. (plus I'm a bit sore since it seems to have anhilated my old wallet somehow and I'm worried about buying more BTS in case it decides that no accounts exist again on my computer even though it clearly does...)

The strange thing is it's probably one of the most confusing but nicest looking I've seen.

(I DON'T EVEN UNDERSTAND WHAT THE DIFFERENCE IS BETWEEN OPEN LEDGER AND BTS)

Education is key. Your account is your responsibility, so if you didn't save a backup file, you're screwed.

And yes, the relationship between the BitShares DEX and OpenLedger is confusing. OpenLedger, as far as I understand, is a fork of the BitShares DEX with other things they've added such as the OPEN.*tokens. It's still a bit confusing, but I think of it like busy.org, chainBB, and steemit. They all use the same blockchain, just have different interfaces for interacting with it.

The only thing i would change in the description above is the referance to openledger being a fork of the Bitshares dex. Although i can see what your saying; I think it is better described as a business that is running ontop of the Bitshares blockchain same as busy.org run off the steem chain with a different UI.

Yeah, that's probably a better way to say it. The similarities in the UI make me think "fork of the code" though and also lead to the source of the confusion. These tools are really amazing, but they are technically challenging for most people to understand.

When it originally came out we called it the BitShares Exchange Network (Big BEN) because one blockchain serves as the backbone and common order book of a network of exchanges including openledger and freedom ledger. I'm probably missing some and deliberately not mentioning one that is to be.

Maybe having a name for the "standard" BitShares DEX+wallet might clear up some confusion. Maybe call it the "BitShares.org Wallet" or something? Most people, I think, think of this when they think of "BitShares" but that leads to confusion (much like "Bitcoin" and "bitcoin" are two different things... a protocol and a currency on that protocol).

I do have a backup file. It doesn't do shit. It says oh yes that is a backup file, and then still says nothing is there. Wat.

The whole thing with bitshares is confusing. I'd bet that's probably one of the main/only reasons it's not more popular, people don't understand it

I agree, it's quite confusing. I think it requires multiple backups every time something changes (i.e. you add a coin, do a transfer, etc). You may have a backup from before you had anything in it.

I have been to the future and know how it turns out!

That future its not the same more!

Well, "history is gonna change!"

Did you use a time machine like this?

I agree Luke. I don't know anyone using ButShares. But BitShares will surely solve a lot of problems.

Hahah! Thanks. Definitely need an edit there (wrote this up on my phone).

I'm a huge fan of BitShares and have posted about it multiple times trying to promote it to more people. The reality, today, is not enough people are using it to have real liquidity compared to centralized exchanges. That's really sad.

True, but like I said, "History is gonna change." :)

Once people find out either who John Galt is or who is creating His-Story the only change required is an Inside-Job ;-)

I read recently that bitshares are number 2 in terms of transaction volume behind only steem so people are actually using it.

Yes, people are using it (myself included), but compared to the main exchanges the liquidity is still unfortunately low. I hope more people use it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54